|I have XP Pro. It crashed. I reinstalled it, and during the install it asked me to define the user, and I typed in my name.|
What happened is that the reinstall process created a NEW account that had no knowledge of my previous account.
Fortunately, I could "see" all the data under Documents and Settings of my old account and was able to recover 100% of my data.
Unfortunately, all the apps I had installed no longer work, even though they are still present.
The problem appears to be that there is no way to access my original account AND/OR there is no way to tell my NEW account these apps exist and are installed without reinstalling them under the new account.
I've searched various forums on this but haven't see anything quite like this.