Solved Looking for opinion on a tablet-type PC running Windows XP

November 8, 2013 at 16:59:41
Specs: Windows XP SP3, 2.793 GHz / 1014 MB
I was wondering if anyone had an opinion on an older tablet PC. I tend to prefer windows XP, and was looking for a tablet type pc. Didn't know if there was anyone who has used this type of set up that could recommend a particular tablet.

::mike


See More: Looking for opinion on a tablet-type PC running Windows XP

Report •


✔ Best Answer
November 9, 2013 at 06:22:51
We used to issue the X61 to our field inspectors, then upgraded to the X200. I believe the X200 came with Vista but we downgraded the OS to XP. We've had very few problems with either model.

message edited by riider



#1
November 8, 2013 at 22:48:36
You won't find Windows XP on a tablet because XP doesn't support touchscreen technology which is essential since there's no physical mouse or keyboard.

Windows 8 was specially developed for touchscreen devices, so that's what you'll find on a Windows tablet, but there is much more tablet choice if you look at those which run Android (and many more apps for them too compared to Windows).


Report •

#2
November 9, 2013 at 04:34:24
I was under the impression that some came with XP such as Lenovo® IdeaPad S10-3t Tablet. To be honest, not looking for a tablet as much as a convertible tablet PC.

::mike


Report •

#3
November 9, 2013 at 05:39:21
The IdeaPad S10-3t was released in 2010 & was never offered with XP.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IdeaPa...

However, Lenovo did offer older tablet PCs with XP such as the Thinkpad X61 or X200.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
November 9, 2013 at 06:03:07
Hmm, ok thank you both for the information. I must have been looking wrong. I kept getting hits on the model I mentioned with XP.

I will look into the x61 or x200.

mostly I was hoping for a hands on opinion for something like these models.

::mike


Report •

#5
November 9, 2013 at 06:22:51
✔ Best Answer
We used to issue the X61 to our field inspectors, then upgraded to the X200. I believe the X200 came with Vista but we downgraded the OS to XP. We've had very few problems with either model.

message edited by riider


Report •

#6
November 9, 2013 at 07:44:53
It looks as though there was a company downgrading the other ThinkPad I was looking at. Thanks for the information phil22. Appreciate the knowledge riider. I will look into the x61.

::mike


Report •

Ask Question