|OE is deleting your .DBX files in the store folder as you try to mount them. This is by design. When you attempt to move your store folder you are told you need to close OE and re-open it for the change to take effect. When you close OE these two entries are written into the registry.|
"New Store Folder"
At this location:
If you remove the two entries before you re-open OE to mount the new store location, your emails will be there and will function as normal. Change your store folder location under Tools, Options, Maintenance. Backup your dbx files and keep them off the computer being used.