Solved Windows Vista reinstall setup screen

Gateway / E-6100
June 7, 2013 at 15:43:25
Specs: Windows 7 Home Premium sp1, AMD Anthlon x2 3.0 64 bit
I just restored a Toshiba laptop with Vista Home Premium 64 bit. I am now at the screen where you set up your name etc. How do I properly shut down from this screen? If I just push the power button on the next startup it will say improper shut down. I want to avoid that I am going to sell this system and let the buyer put their info in. Is there any way to shut it down without it saying improper shut down and asking to run startup repair?

See More: Windows Vista reinstall setup screen

Report •

#1
June 7, 2013 at 18:25:13
Just enter "Toshiba" & move on.

Report •

#2
June 8, 2013 at 07:49:08
✔ Best Answer
Most independent small system builders who install Windows for their customers simply put the word "Owner" for user account name.

The customer can then either change that to their own name in Control Panel, or they can set up a new account for themselves then delete the "Owner" account.


Report •

#3
June 8, 2013 at 12:23:50
I was hoping to keep it at the setup screen. I am running the recovery again. This time I will shut down on the last reboot after the sysprep. Or I may just shut down before sysprep and let the buyer know it will run a sysprep.
I just did not notice the replies. I would have done what was suggested. I know it seems I am rushing just trying to get this fixed on my day off.

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
June 8, 2013 at 17:59:59
Sorry for asking the crazy question. I got it now or I will have it. I may not sell it. The screen was showing lines but now it's fine. IDK what it was it done that twice. But I may just keep it for myself. I was just trying to get a little extra $ but oh well. A wierd thing. I used the recovery disk I got from Toshiba. I thought they would create the recovery partition and keep it. Here is what happens. After you run both disk it ejects the disk. Then copies the recovery from the temp partition it made. Then after sysprep runs it deletes the HDDRECOVERY. I know this because I did some testing by booting to a partition commander CD it makes a hidden recovery called HDDRECOVERY with no drive letter. I kinda wish it would keep the recovery but it's no big deal. I am going to make a recovery with Acornis true image. Maybe the screen will not do that anymore.

Report •

Ask Question