User in Explorer but not Control Panel/Users

December 9, 2009 at 01:29:20
Specs: Windows Vista SP2, 2.00 GHz - 2 GB
Hi,

I have three users showing in Explorer, the default one and two others.

I would like to delete one on the users (Michael) which only shows two locations, desktop and downloads.

I can in fact delete it in explorer, but when I reboot, it comes back.

The user does not show however in control/user accounts. What I see there is Mike (administrator) ASP.Net Machine (Standard user - password protected) and Guest (guest account is off)

Any help or pointers would be much appreciated,

Mike


See More: User in Explorer but not Control Panel/Users

Report •


#1
December 9, 2009 at 15:03:24
In control panel you say Mike but you say user folder shows Michael? Did you rename the user Michael to Mike?

Playing to the angels
Les Paul (1915-2009)


Report •

#2
December 9, 2009 at 16:26:07
Explorer shows profiles not users. If the profile is not in use (ie,
doesn't have an associated user) its ok to remove it. You would
have to make hidden and system files visible and have full control
of the whole folder. If this isn't true you should get some
warning/error messages when you try to delete (eg, folder
contains x hidden files and folders which won't be deleted, so
you want to continue).

btw - unless its taking up LOTS of space, why bother?!


Report •

#3
December 10, 2009 at 12:17:06
"In control panel you say Mike but you say user folder shows Michael? Did you rename the user Michael to Mike?".

Good question and I really can't say. Maybe when I went from XP - to Vista

BTW - Vista has had massive updates recently and I'm talking about 350-400 MB and it works great. Maybe it's Windows 7 without the eye candy?

"Explorer shows profiles not users. If the profile is not in use (ie, doesn't have an associated user) its ok to remove it".

I can remove it but it comes back when I reboot.

Thank you both,

http://i46.tinypic.com/2vnphub.jpg = no michael

http://i45.tinypic.com/13zoooy.jpg = comes back again

http://i45.tinypic.com/675hmq.jpg = user account


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
December 11, 2009 at 13:22:11
I can't explain how what seems to be deleted and then comes back. I have seen it on corporate systems that synchronize but a home system should not.

So the question is, is there a problem. It is malware or a defect or what. Can't say either.

I almost suspect that your two names are the same user. As to why is seems to delete I can't answer (not much help huh?)

If you think it is a security issue then time for a clean install and start over.

If it is just an annoyance then leave it until you either need to reload or get a new os.

Playing to the angels
Les Paul (1915-2009)


Report •

#5
December 12, 2009 at 02:43:37
The only annoyance is that sometimes I download to the 'wrong' download folder and then have to look around for the download.

Not a biggy and thanks for taking the time to reply ;-)

Mike


Report •


Ask Question