Brother deleted my user account on Vista

September 21, 2010 at 07:23:10
Specs: Windows Vista
Hi All,
I recently gave my parents my desktop computer that has Vista. On it I had hundreds of pictures, movies, music, etc. When my brother changed the computers over, the wireless adapter was not registering and there was no access to the internet. One day without my knowledge, he somehow changed the user accounts and my user account was deleted along with ALL of my files. I tried looking at System Restore but the restore points were after he deleted my account. I have also tried using a recovery tool but that was not successful either. I'd hate to see all of that money I spent on the movies and music go down the drain along with hundreds of pictures, etc. Is there anything else I can do to get these files back?

See More: Brother deleted my user account on Vista

Report •

#1
September 21, 2010 at 08:33:43
System restore only deals with system files not your personal files.

Did he delete your account under the folder Users?
Do you remember any of the file names? Perhaps logging in as admin and do a search for those file names might reveal something.


Report •

#2
September 21, 2010 at 10:04:05
Yes, my brother did delete my account under the user folders. All that is there now is the new user account and "public". I just did a search and nothing came up. Am I safe to assume that all those files are "lost"?

Report •

#3
September 21, 2010 at 10:21:45
and nothing in recycle bin?

He did more than just delete a user account if this is the case. A no result search would also tell us all these files were under your profile.

And yes they would be gone if these files were under here.
Might want to try some data recovery software


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
October 12, 2010 at 22:41:12
You can try Run C:\Users You can also go into computer. Find Public Documents and your files should be in there. It happened to me too. = ) I'm sure you'll find all the files you need in Public documents.

Report •

#5
October 13, 2010 at 09:25:49
Files would only be there is he put them there for others to access. It does not happen by default. Since he searched and found no files he was looking for I beleive this is a moot point.

Report •

Ask Question