Accidentally reformatted my DVD; disk still shows it's full

March 27, 2013 at 19:55:07
Specs: Windows Vista
So here's my situation. I decided to restore an old Dell laptop to its factory settings, so I backed up personal files from it onto a DVD.

So, once it reformats and upon going through all the setup stuff, Dell asks me if I want to setup this feature called "Easy Transfer". Unwittingly, I decide to do it because I want to immediately put all the files I had backed up back onto the computer. I pop the backup DVD into the drive, an then I quickly realize that it's reformatting the DVD, so I cancel it.

I look at the DVD drive and it says 314MB of 4.38GB, like it originally did. But when I open the DVD, there are no files on it. I checked another computer and the same thing happens. Have these files been permanently deleted, or is there some way for me to recover them?

(I tried Recuva but it says there's no disk in the drive.)


See More: Accidentally reformatted my DVD; disk still shows its full

Report •


#1
March 28, 2013 at 01:34:50
Give me the EXACT details of the DVD, RW? Size?

Open Control Panel > Folder Options or My Computer or Windows Explorer > Tools > Folder Options
Tick > Show hidden files and folders. Also uncheck > Hide protected operating system files. Click > Apply & OK.
Now an Advanced search will find them.
How to see hidden files in Windows
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tut...


Report •

#2
March 28, 2013 at 08:53:04
Hi, thank you for your help. It's a Verbatim DVD-recordable disk,with 4.7GB 120 mins.

I followed your instructions but there's only one file that's showing up. Would you know of any other possible solutions?


Report •

#3
March 28, 2013 at 15:28:56
"I followed your instructions but there's only one file that's showing up"
Can you upload to a site of your choosing, a screenshot ( SS ) of that page & give me the link.

" Would you know of any other possible solutions?"
Exact version of Vista please?


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
April 19, 2013 at 05:17:27
Yes I think, your files are permanently deleted
Its a property of DVD or CD that if once a file is created, it uses memory and once files are deleted, it will not empty the disk and show you the same usable memory as before.

May be you can restore the disk by some recovery software


Report •


Ask Question