how to preview video icons as playing video

June 9, 2015 at 10:14:31
Specs: windows 8
how to preview video icons as playing video on putting the cursor on it,,
i mean it quick preview of video like android

See More: how to preview video icons as playing video

Report •

#1
June 9, 2015 at 11:24:24
When you are playing a video you can go to the taskbar and put the cursor on the icon there. It will show a thumbnail with what is playing. I don't know of any other inbuilt Windows 8 or 8.1 feature.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#2
June 14, 2015 at 00:15:22
i am talking about windows explorer thumbnails playing,, it was working earlier,, but not after reinstall windows

Report •

#3
June 14, 2015 at 07:27:14
Presumably it is set to thumbnail view - excuse silly question?

What player are you using for videos?

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks

message edited by Derek


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
June 16, 2015 at 01:05:18
you dont understand,,
when i put the cursor on any thumbnail it starts playing,,
it is something like facebook,, where if we put cursor on a link, it opens a small window
if you dont know the answer,, dont waste your time
thanku

Report •

#5
June 16, 2015 at 05:42:45
"you don't understand"
I thought you wanted to hover the mouse cursor on a video thumbnail in Windows Explorer and see it playing as a preview.

Presumably you mean something else, so I'll leave it to others to better interpret the question and I won't waste my spare time trying to help.

message edited by Derek


Report •

#6
June 17, 2015 at 21:25:46
If you can't describe clearly what you want it to do , then don't be rude to others when they try to help.

What you origianlly asked is exactly what Derek was asking about. Don't get pissed at others because you can't articulate.


Report •

#7
June 18, 2015 at 05:26:09
i am talking about windows explorer thumbnails,, and i use VLC media player,,
i know he trying to help,, but why he said it is silly question,,
why dont answer exact solution

Report •

#8
June 18, 2015 at 06:39:43
"Presumably it is set to thumbnail view - excuse silly question?"
OK then it looks like we have a misunderstanding. What that meant was "excuse MY silly question". Looks like it was a language thing.

You said you had this feature before you re-installed Windows. I am on Windows 8.1 and have never had this facility in Windows explorer, either now or when it was just Windows 8.

Please confirm that you do mean "Windows Explorer" and not the large blocks on the new style start menu. The start menu is the only place I've seen video movement.

Just to make sure we are using the same terminology:-
This is Windows Explorer:
http://cache.gawkerassets.com/asset...

This is the new Start Menu:
http://img.hexus.net/v2/software/wi...

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks

message edited by Derek


Report •

#9
June 18, 2015 at 06:50:36
i am talking about windows explorer thumbnails,, and i use VLC media player

Your VLC could be the culprit. Read what Tzundaï wrote HERE.

i_Xp/Vista/W7User


Report •

#10
June 18, 2015 at 06:51:02
yes,, it was windows explorer (windows 7),, now i am using windows 8.1 but this was working in windows 7,,

Report •

#11
June 18, 2015 at 07:08:59
See the link given above - it looks like XpUser might be onto it. I am using VLC also.

It looks like the way forward might be to associate as many video file types as possible to WMP which might at least get some of the previews working. I accept that some types will probably only run from VLC (without previews).

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks

message edited by Derek


Report •

#12
June 18, 2015 at 08:24:43
where is the link


Report •

#13
June 18, 2015 at 08:31:24
Click on the word "HERE" in post # 9.

message edited by THX 1138


Report •

Ask Question