Solved delete emails re-appear in live mail

Custom / CUSTOM
May 12, 2014 at 02:02:19
Specs: Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit, i7-2600 @ 3.401 GHz / 12269 MB
If I re-start Windows live mail after deleting some emails - those emails sometimes re-appear but are marked as non-exsistant? I think there is a way to stop this happening but I can't remember what to do!

h g a


See More: delete emails re-appear in live mail

Report •

✔ Best Answer
May 13, 2014 at 02:31:01
Managed to finf this - onepossible resolution for Mavericks at least (although some have apparently found it not effective).

http://macwindows.com/TIP---Prevent...

Came from here: http://macwindows.com/mavericks-out...

Possibly there is a similaror equivalent tweak/setting in Windows Live Mail?



#1
May 12, 2014 at 07:41:58
"marked as non-existent
Just wondered where you are seeing this?

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#2
May 12, 2014 at 09:13:45
in Windows Live Mail

h g a


Report •

#3
May 12, 2014 at 09:47:39
Err, yes, I realise that but exactly where in Windows Live Mail - what do you click or see that tells you this? Just trying to get a handle on the symptoms.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
May 12, 2014 at 20:53:25
Most email programs have an option to leave the email on the ISP's server or delete them when they are downloaded. If you do not delete them, they can be downloaded a second time when the mail program is opened again. This option is good when you check your work mail at home so it will also show up at work (or visa-versa) but for a single computer, it should delete the mail from the server when you confirm it has been downloaded to your system.

Also, occasionally empty your deleted items folder (I set mine to delete when closing the program to prevent build up).

You have to be a little bit crazy to keep you from going insane.


Report •

#5
May 13, 2014 at 01:47:03
I've never found that an email is downloaded a second or more time if the "leave a copy on the server" option is checked.

Which having said... when I upgraded my Mac to Mavericks OS, it set /activated by default, an option to do just that... Took me a we while to discover what it was and disable it. It wasn't ever an issue with Mountain Lion or Snow Leopard (at least for me).

The option affects both the built-in Apple mail utility - and MS-Office\Outlook (2011 in this case); both of which on my Macs are set to access/download/send etc. a pop3 email account. Possibly there is a similar setting in the Widows live-mail utility.

Not able just now to check what and where that option is but it's specific to Mac OS (I think) and Mavericks in particular.

I prefer to leave mail on the server as form of "cloud" access/storage should I need to refer or recover a given email (if it gets lost on my Mac etc.); but agree it's useful to clear out deleted, spam, and even well out of date emails at times...


Report •

#6
May 13, 2014 at 02:31:01
✔ Best Answer
Managed to finf this - onepossible resolution for Mavericks at least (although some have apparently found it not effective).

http://macwindows.com/TIP---Prevent...

Came from here: http://macwindows.com/mavericks-out...

Possibly there is a similaror equivalent tweak/setting in Windows Live Mail?


Report •

Ask Question