Prompted to enter both username & password

Microsoft Windows 7 ultimate 32-bit
March 13, 2010 at 01:57:29
Specs: Windows 7
I am using Windows 7. Recently I joined my lap in a domain and I removed it and put back in a workgroup. After this I noticed one strange thing. Afte logging off when i try to log in back it is prompting me to enter both username and password. But before it was not like that. While logging off or sleep the username will be thee along with the rofile picture. Just enter the password you are in. But now it is asking to enter both username and password and no profile picture is shown. Please help me to revert back.

Thanks in advance.


See More: Prompted to enter both username & password

Report •

#1
March 13, 2010 at 04:04:09
Start - search - netplwiz, hit Enter

1) Users tab, click to clear the "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer" check box, and then click OK.
2) In the Automatically Log On dialog box, type a user name and password to be used for automatic logon in the User name and Password boxes respectively, type the password again in the Confirm Password box, and then click OK.
3) Click OK to close the User Accounts dialog box.


OR try the software tool from my signature :D

Sincerely,
Jeff.
My autologon tool for Win


Report •

#2
March 13, 2010 at 08:58:55
Dear Jeff,

Thanks for your reply.

I think you did nt get my question correctly.

It needs to be authenticated before login. But I dont want to enter both username and password. Username with the profile picture should be shown in the log on screen. I can enter the password and login. But now nothing is showing except a blank profile picture and username and password text boxes in which I have to enter the both.

Please help. :-(


Report •

#3
March 28, 2010 at 00:40:01
Any idea aboout this? :-(

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 30, 2010 at 20:29:35
What he was saying would require you NOT to enter a password to log on to your computer, it would do so automatically. To fix this, go to your control panel, and under administrative tools, click on local security policy. Click local policies, the click on security options. Scroll down to "Interactive Login: Don't Display Last User Name" and disable it. That should require you to just enter your password, without having to type your user name. You'll get your profile picture back as well :)

Shaun


Report •

#5
April 2, 2010 at 13:35:46
Hi Shaun,

This option was already disabled. But the problem got solved. I tried to change the next option.... which is...Dispaly the user info when the session is locked. I selected...User display name, domain and username. Now it is working.

Anyways thanks dude for showing me the path.


Thank a lot.


Report •

Ask Question