fix my roll back boot.

May 30, 2014 at 16:30:20
Specs: win7 ult., ivy bridge
I did a in place upgrade from win7 ult. to win7 ult. ( same CD ).

Setup did indicate all files and setting will remain so I proceeded. Everything went great until the final restart. Windows just said that it failed to upgrade and will now roll back my system. On reboot I saw the new windows 7 64 boot option and like an idiot I selected it just to see it it was done enough so that I could finish up the install. To my surprise it didn't boot to the OS and instead finished the install. After that reboot I quick learned it was a new install.

So now I want to roll back but the boot loader option is gone. I do see the files windows made to the roll back, I just need to know how to set up the windows 7 boot loader to roll it back.

Would anyone be so kind to help me do this?


See More: fix my roll back boot.

Report •

#1
May 30, 2014 at 19:47:26
"I do see the files windows made to the roll back"
Use your down or up arrows on the keyboard.

Report •

#2
May 30, 2014 at 20:03:45
I guess I didnt explain that well? I mean when the OS is up I see the fragments of the folders that windows makes when it does an in place upgrade.

Report •

#3
May 31, 2014 at 00:15:51
1: Hold the start button in until you get a shutdown.
2: Wait a minute & reboot. If you get an repair option, if so run repair.
3: If no repair option, repeat the process. You may have to repeat up to 6 times, before you get the repair option.

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
May 31, 2014 at 00:22:12
You went from 'win7 ult. to win7 ult'. That's not an upgrade. Do you mean you did an 'over the top' reinstall? In any event, if you 'upgraded' to a version of 7 you no longer now want and both versions were on the same disk, can't you just upgrade back to the version you want?

The first phase of installing windows is just copying the files it needs from the cd/dvd to the hard drive. Then it reboots and starts the installation. So if the installation stopped after the first reboot your old install would still be intact. However once the upgrade continued it overwrote your old files so there's nothing to go back to.

You might check this but I don't think it's what you're looking for:

http://www.howtogeek.com/130558/how...

That tells about restoring the saved files--your programs and personal files--not restoring the previous OS.


Report •

#5
May 31, 2014 at 07:31:11
It's like an install on top of the existing os but it was the type of install that saved all the old data first with plans on merging it back in. In the xp days we called this installing an os over its self, to replace all bad corrupt files. Once done you have the same desktop and program files as you did before but all windows settings where restored.

this is not the windows.old deal...

here are the folders it made you can search and read up on what I mean.
$INPLACE.~TR
$UPGRADE.~OS
$WINDOWS.~LS
$WINDOWS.~Q
ok go here, this shows the same screens I had
http://windowssecrets.com/top-story...


Johnw as for the restore.
I got the option and it boot to the fix options.
startup repair : no errors
system restore : no point
system image recover : none found


update: I finally found the files...
C:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA
it has my old program folders, users, and windows folders. Worst case ill try to reassemble my os with UBCD.

message edited by ulaoulao


Report •

Ask Question