Solved Are there any problems transfering all folders out of Users

Hewlett-packard / PAVILION
January 20, 2015 at 13:26:04
Specs: Windows 7, Intel Pentium D 925
I am the only user of my home computer and would like to move all folders under my User Name to be under OS with no User Names being used. Are there any problems with doing that, other than the difficulties of having to work with my programs/data in their new location?

Thanks for any advice you might have. Uncle Dewey


See More: Are there any problems transfering all folders out of Users

Report •

#1
January 20, 2015 at 14:41:42
✔ Best Answer
If they are your own personal files it won't break the system if you move them someplace else. If they are in system supplied folders, such as documents, pictures, and music then leave the folders in place and create new ones. You might have to overcome difficulties with saving things. If you put them in a system area then you will run into having to put up with UAC prompts whenever you access them.

It sounds a bit "knotty" to me so I would copy them over for a while before you delete the originals - just to see how it goes. All the foregoing is subject to whether I have fully understood your intentions.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#2
January 20, 2015 at 14:48:56
I'm curious - what do you hope to accomplish by doing this?

Report •

#3
January 20, 2015 at 15:15:41
My problem got worse when I went to my new computer. I copied my files from User Name on my old computer and the system (I had Staples do the transfer which on hind sight I could have done better) gave me a new User Name. So now I have three document folders which just makes it difficult to find the file I might be looking for, so having them all in one location seems better. There are also some other duplicate folders.

I understand I need to be careful--maybe one folder type at a time. I'm thinking and appreciate your insight. Uncle Dewey


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
January 20, 2015 at 20:00:48
It sounds like you already have the problem I was just about to warn you of:
If you copy the files but leave the originals where they are, as Derek suggested,
then you need to pay very close attention to which copy you are working with.

I just ran into the same kind of thing yesterday, when I loaded in a mess of
images I'm editing, then realized that they weren't from the folder I thought I'd
taken them from. They were older versions of all the same images, and so
subtley different from the newest versions that I might have worked on them
for hours before discovering that I was doing the same work over again.

-- Jeff, in Minneapolis


Report •

#5
January 20, 2015 at 20:13:48
Hey Jeff,

I saw the same thing--the same document with different dates. So it will be a chore to get to where I should be.

Uncle Dewey


Report •

#6
January 26, 2015 at 09:40:57
I have now moved 98% of the files under Users to be directly under C:\. I did leave "appdate & desktop" They are not something I use, but may be useful to the system.

Thanks for your help. Uncle Dewey


Report •

#7
January 26, 2015 at 09:48:36
Make a System Restore point, otherwise what is directly on C root will be removed if you should run System Restore. Also remember that System Restore will always remove anything added since the last saved restore point. This is because C root is not seen as a user area.

"appdate"
Do you mean AppData? If so that must stay in place - you are treading in a risky area.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#8
January 26, 2015 at 11:04:17
System Restore is now done. I do mean AppData and I am leaving it alone.

Tx, Uncle Dewey


Report •

Ask Question