Roaming profiles being overwritten by local

Microsoft Windows server 2003 enterprise
January 12, 2010 at 07:35:00
Specs: Windows XP
Okay, this has been driving me and my client nuts. Here is the situation:

Each user in AD has their profile set to \\server\profiles\%username% in their person document.

We have the following GPO settings set:

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Network/Offline files
- Allow or Disallow use of Offline Files Feature: Disabled
- At logoff, delete local copy of user's offline files: Enabled

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\System/User Profiles
- Add the Administrators security group to roaming user profiles: Enabled
- Delete cached copies of roaming profiles: Enabled
- Prevent Roaming profile changes from propagating to the server: Disabled

User Configuration\Windows Settings\Folder Redirection\Desktop
- Setting: Basic (redirect everyone's folder to the same location)
- Path: \\server\profiles\%username%\desktop
- Grant user exclusive rights to Desktop: Enabled
- Move the contents of the Desktop to the new location: Enabled

User Configuration\Windows Settings\Folder Redirection\My Documents
- Setting: Basic (redirect everyone's folder to the same location)
- Path: \\server\home\%username%\My Documents
- Grant user exclusive rights to Desktop: Enabled
- Move the contents of the Desktop to the new location: Enabled


Here is what is happening. When a user deletes a file off of their desktop, it goes away. When they log off and then back on, it returns. If you right click on the file on their desktop, the path of the file is \\server\profiles\%username%\desktop, which is expected. Now, if you go into c:\documents and settings\username.domain\desktop, the file is in there. If you delete it, log off and then log back on, the file is gone from both the local and roaming profile (basically it is doing what we want it to do when you delete it off of the roaming profile). We tried to change the "Prevent Roaming profile changes from propagating to the server" to enabled and this solved the issue with deleting files off of the desktop. However, now users can't change the background images on their desktop, any changes they make in Excel to the toolbars gets reverted back to the default when they log off (the options are apparently stored in users' profiles) and the arrangement of icons on the desktop cannot be changed. I cannot figure out a way to make both of these problems go away without giving users more access. For example, I tested with an account by making it a domain admin and it fixed the issue for that user. Everyone person is the owner of their profile and has Full Access to their folders.

Can anyone give me any ideas how to get this fixed? Users are getting frustrated with me.

Thank you in advance!

Jeff


See More: Roaming profiles being overwritten by local

Report •

#1
January 13, 2010 at 13:27:56
Look in the profile on the server for the ntuser file. See if it's called ntuser.man or ntuser.dat. If .man, it's a mandatory profile being used, hence the changes not being saved. If the file is called .dat it's the opposite, and in that case something else is wrong.

Report •
Related Solutions


Ask Question