Need some help with backup maintenance

Microsoft Windows server 2003
March 16, 2010 at 19:45:55
Specs: Windows 7
Hi guys. New to the forum but will probably be around a lot to read up on information about Server 2003. I'm new to Server 2003 but I am learning a lot working with it at my new internship.

My question is on backups. As a part of general maintenance, I will be verifying that the nightly backup was completed and that there are no errors in the files that were backed up. My director showed me how to do this using the backup utility but I'm a little unsure at what he did. I think he went to the Restore and Manage Media tab, then found the backup file from the day before. I then think he selected a few folders (or maybe just a few files) and then restored them to make sure that he didn't receive any errors? Would this be right? Would this be a common practice to make sure that the files were backed up successfully? Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks


See More: Need some help with backup maintenance

Report •

#1
March 17, 2010 at 05:06:25
I would take a look at the lock file for that nightly backup and search for any errors.
To restore some of the backed up files only shows, whether the backup itself is usable for restore in worst case.

Report •

#2
March 17, 2010 at 10:35:19
Thanks for the reply.

What do you mean the lock file? Is this simply looking at the event viewer and seeing if there are errors for ntbackup?

And for option I was referring to, when I choose to restore a few random files, where do I restore them to or does it matter?

Thanks for help and sorry for these probably easy questions.


Report •

#3
March 17, 2010 at 12:03:29
If you're using NTbackup, read this for how to get the logfile:
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=...

When restoring random files from the backup, it doesn't matter, where you store them.
The point is, that the files must be readable.
E.g.: Word, Excel or PDF documents must be readable.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 17, 2010 at 12:41:24
Thanks for that link. I am about to take a look at the log files.

Ok cool. So i can restore them to the desktop to verify that they are readable and then delete the restored files with no worry of deleting the original?

Thanks for the replies.


Report •

#5
March 17, 2010 at 12:47:04
Yes, because the original files are located at the server and not at your desktop.
It's comparable with copying the files from the server to your desktop. When you delete the copied files from the desktop, you don't touch the original files.

Report •

Ask Question