Why does D: drive magically show up and is full?

May 17, 2018 at 11:42:44
Specs: Windows 10
So I found windows posting a notification that my D drive is almost out of free space, I was astonished at this because I don't have a D drive on my laptop, only the root C drive, I also didn't have any external storage connected, I opened cmd as an administrator and wrote : "CHKDSK /R D:" and got this back:

The type of the file system is NTFS.

Stage 1: Examining basic file system structure ...
256 file records processed.
File verification completed.
0 large file records processed.
0 bad file records processed.

Stage 2: Examining file name linkage ...
1 reparse records processed.
286 index entries processed.
Index verification completed.
0 unindexed files scanned.
0 unindexed files recovered to lost and found.
1 reparse records processed.

Stage 3: Examining security descriptors ...
Security descriptor verification completed.
15 data files processed.

Stage 4: Looking for bad clusters in user file data ...
240 files processed.
File data verification completed.

Stage 5: Looking for bad, free clusters ...
12804 free clusters processed.
Free space verification is complete.

Windows has scanned the file system and found no problems.
No further action is required.

510975 KB total disk space.
454772 KB in 12 files.
76 KB in 17 indexes.
0 KB in bad sectors.
4907 KB in use by the system.
4224 KB occupied by the log file.
51220 KB available on disk.

4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
127743 total allocation units on disk.
12805 allocation units available on disk.


I am not sure what to do now, please offer your help if you could.


See More: Why does D: drive magically show up and is full?

Reply ↓  Report •

#1
May 17, 2018 at 15:00:09
It's likely the 500MB Win10 System Reserved Partition. Somehow it was made visible: https://4sysops.com/archives/the-sy...

message edited by riider


Reply ↓  Report •

#2
May 17, 2018 at 20:46:36
D drive on most manufactured systems are the factory recovery partitions and are usually hidden to the user so they are not accidentally deleted or overwritten. It is best to ignore the partition and the warning about it.

You have to be a little bit crazy to keep you from going insane.


Reply ↓  Report •
Related Solutions


Ask Question