Solved Regarding Windows.old Folder after install of Windows 10

Gigabyte / Ga-78lmt-s2p
August 5, 2015 at 02:06:44
Specs: Win 10 Home, 8gig
I have successfully installed Windows 10 on top of My Win 7 Home and to say the least I am mighty impressed. The install took about an hour and a quarter and worked perfectly from the get go.

However I now have a "Windows Old" folder which is 25.3GB big, can this be safely deleted now or can it be saved somewhere, maybe to an external drive (just in case)?

Regards


See More: Regarding Windows.old Folder after install of Windows 10

Report •

#1
August 5, 2015 at 02:13:02
After a Windows Upgrade, by default, a scheduled task is created and will run after four weeks to delete the Windows.Old directory. that means the old version of the OS remains stored in a "Windows.old" folder. This folder allows you to restore that previous version directly from Windows 10. IIf you deleted it, it is hard to rollback to previous OS. if you sure will not to rollback, Iand no longer have any use for it, you can remove it.

Report •

#2
August 5, 2015 at 02:52:44
Thank you for your advice, I'll leave it on the system for the meantime.

Regards


Report •

#3
August 5, 2015 at 11:49:30
✔ Best Answer
Trying to clarify the excellent suggestion posted in Post 1:

Back in 2013 in the days of Windows 8.1, someone ranted in Microsoft Ask a question Forum about missing Windows.old folder after an upgrade. Here is the answer given by a Microsoft moderator:

Windows 8 has a new Timer feature which will delete Windows.old files automatically after a period of 4 weeks since upgrade. The idea behind this is to avoid wastage of space by giving you ample time to get what you need off the folder and deleting off those which sit ideal for months or even years.

In addition, earlier this year, Microsoft went further in making sure Windows take up even more smaller disk space - by no longer requiring OEM partners to install recovery partitions preinstalled on new computers featuring Windows 10. Read more HERE.

i_Xp/Vista/W7User


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
August 5, 2015 at 11:58:56
The moral of my comment above is that users (1) should have backed up what is dear to them to DVD or USB media before upgrading to a new version of windows, and (2) be aware that rolling back to earlier Windows version is no guarantee everything will work the way they have worked for you for years.

i_Xp/Vista/W7User


Report •

#5
August 5, 2015 at 15:36:21
Thank you XP for a clear and concise reply. Before installing 10 I made a disk image of 7 (Macrium) so all the information I might need is readily available so it appears I can go ahead and delete it without waiting for the four week event.

Report •

Ask Question