Solved Help PC running windows 10 Tech Preview cannot access server

Toshiba Toshiba satellite pro 430cdt lap...
July 21, 2015 at 00:54:52
Specs: Windows 10, 2.7GHz /3GB
Hello everyone, here is an interesting problem.

All of my windows 7 PCs (around 30) & windows 8 PCs (around 4) can access a file share on a windows XP PC. No username or password is required. Everyone has a mapped network share to
\\server\share and even right now 100% of everyone can access it with no problems. i upgraded this PC to windows 10 tech preview and now insider preview. Now i had no problems accessing the share form this PC until now.

Now, it is asking me to authenticate, asking me for a username and password. i have checked with all members of staff and no one is reporting not being able t access the server and 4 people,, 3 windows 7 and 1 windows 8 actually responded to say all is good.

to me there is something wrong with my PC and it is some kind of update that is now causing the issue.

Can someone help me get access back to the server please?

There is no username or password set. We cannot set a username and password it isn't fair to everyone else. Only my PC is affected.

On a similar note, around a month ago, i lost access to the file share on the printer. When we do a scan, the scan stays on a hard drive on the printer and we go and get it. Now i have checked and all the windows 7 and windows 8 PCs can still access it. So this is an ongoing problem for a month now.

If this is any good... I have just worked out, that is is my PC that is asking for the credentials. I have been 'swindled' by Microsoft into having a network account. I always had a local account, and they got me to do an update and i had to 'fix something'. next thing, i am logging on with my email address, which i never ever wanted to do. i am wondering if this is the problem.

How can i get back to logging on with my local account?


See More: Help PC running windows 10 Tech Preview cannot access server

Report •

✔ Best Answer
July 22, 2015 at 00:21:18
[Resolved]

Bingo!

It was exactly what i said.

i have set up a local user account and now i am back on the server

If you sign in with a microsoft account and pin number it isn't the same as logging on locally. It obviously affects workgroup file sharing.



#1
July 21, 2015 at 07:50:39
At this point in time Windows 10 is still a beta software that should never have been used for any purposes other than beta testing. There is no work around or fix for any issues that arises. I am sure you were amply warned when you downloaded and install beta software.

i_Xp/Vista/W7User


Report •

#2
July 21, 2015 at 11:52:36
Part of a domain, or no? If not, make sure its HomeGroup sharing messing you up.
How are you authenticating this share? Just enabling guest access, and giving everyone free range? If not, try creating a user account on the Win10 box not tied to a Microsoft account, and see if you can access the share from that account.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

#3
July 22, 2015 at 00:12:28
To answer xpuser, yes i know you are right to some extent, but the thing is, is was working! Now an update has upset everything, changed some things. i don't know what it has done. Microsoft shouldn't be doing things without telling people what they are doing.

For razor 2.3
It isn't part of any domain (never was). All i know is, the share (residing on a windows XP PC) doesn't require a username or password, so it must be guest access.

The PC is joined to the workgroup workgroup. i don't know anything about homegroups on this PC. i am going to try and create a local account again and see if i can access, if i log on locally. i am somewhat concerned by logging on with an email address and pin number. i have the idea that could be messing up local file sharing.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
July 22, 2015 at 00:21:18
✔ Best Answer
[Resolved]

Bingo!

It was exactly what i said.

i have set up a local user account and now i am back on the server

If you sign in with a microsoft account and pin number it isn't the same as logging on locally. It obviously affects workgroup file sharing.


Report •

#5
July 22, 2015 at 04:52:33
Yeah, the Microsoft accounts would screw up sharing in 8 as well. The good news is it'll be easier to not use a Microsoft account with 10.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

Ask Question