Solved Accidently deleted OS when returning to factory default.

February 19, 2016 at 20:59:40
Specs: Windows XP, Intel Celeron 1.30GHz
My nephew called yesterday and said when he tried to put his Dell laptop back to the factory default, he said the operating system was deleted. I believe he said it was Windows 8 or 10, but I'm not 100% sure.

He said he thought the factory default meant the way it was when he bought it. He had alot of college work on it that he no longer needed and thought it would be quicker to go back to the factory default than to delete all the files he wanted to get rid of one at a time. He does have a recovery disk that he plans to try. Is there anything in particular he should know about using the recovery disk.


See More: Accidently deleted OS when returning to factory default.

Report •

#1
February 19, 2016 at 22:31:34

Report •

#2
February 20, 2016 at 08:56:26
✔ Best Answer
For future reference you don't have to delete files one at a time. You can select using the keyboard, this sort of thing:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/...

In summary:
Ctrl A for All, Ctrl for adding or removing individuals, Shift for start and end of blocks. It is also useful to use Ctrl X for cut, Ctrl C for copy and Ctrl V for Paste.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#3
February 22, 2016 at 21:17:39
You can also put all of the files to be deleted into a single folder (if it isn't already) and then delete the folder (do not delete the Documents folder, select all and Cut/Paste into other/new Folder). If you want to skip the recycle bin step and save the time and space (only if you are really sure you do not need them), just hold down the Shift key when you hit Delete.

You have to be a little bit crazy to keep you from going insane.


Report •
Related Solutions


Ask Question