|Thank you trvlr here is the section you refer to:|
I figured it out:
Follow the steps to delete an account:
Log into the Gmail account you want to delete:
2. Accounts and Import
3. Google Account Settings (bottom of page)
4. Next to "My Products" click "Edit"
Here is where it gets confusing - but do this:
Under "Delete Account," Click on "Close account and delete all services and info associated with it"
This will only delete the Google account that is associated with the email account you don't want to keep and will not delete the Google account associated with the Gmail/email address that you do want to keep.
I just tried it. It works.
Confusion still reigns supreme because the layout (in Google's wisdom) has changed and it is a bit confusing from the section "This will only delete the Google account etc. I am afraid to continue in case I delete my wife's email account completely. Woe is me.
Would this work: I back up my complete system to another drive as I usually do then delete one of my three accounts. Assuming the worst happens and I cancel my working account would it work again after restoring my back-up?
Why can't Google provide simple solutions to these problems?
Late edit: I don't think the backup idea will work because the signup information is stored with Google not my computer.
message edited by Ewen