Preview Feature For Edited Posts?

P4i6g / P4i65g
July 26, 2011 at 10:06:58
Specs: Windows XP Home 2002, Asrock 2.8GHz / 2 Gb
Justin,

Have you considered setting up the editor so that Preview feature is available when editing a post?

Here's why I ask:

On occasion, someone will post data or code in the Office forum without realizing that it will not stay lined up unless enclosed in the pre tags.

I will point them to the How To in my signature line and ask them to repost their data (or code) using the pre tags so that we can see how it is laid out. Most times the solution to an Excel question is highly dependent on which columns the data is in.

I'm sure you can see where this is going...

The editing feature does not allow them to preview their post and cycle through the "Show Confirmation Page Again" option until they like the way the post is lined up. I'll often get PM's or posts that complain about that issue. (I just got another mention of it today)

Would it be a lot of work on your part to change the editor so that all posts - new, edits and responses - have the preview feature available?

Thanks!

Click Here Before Posting Data or VBA Code ---> How To Post Data or Code.


See More: Preview Feature For Edited Posts?

Report •

#1
July 26, 2011 at 10:51:18
DerbyDad03,

I like the idea, I'll look into doing it and get back to you!

Justin


Report •

#2
July 26, 2011 at 12:31:16
Hey,

I have gone ahead and done this.

Hope it works out well :)

Thanks for the suggestion,
Justin


Report •

#3
July 26, 2011 at 14:44:44
It appears to work fine. Thanks!

I'l play with it a bit and see if I can break it. ;-)

Click Here Before Posting Data or VBA Code ---> How To Post Data or Code.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
July 26, 2011 at 15:55:15
Hey,

Great! Let me know if you do :)

Justin


Report •

#5
July 28, 2011 at 19:32:26
I think preview was a feature for a long time and then computing.net had a facelift?

Some HELP in posting on Computing.net plus free progs and instructions Cheers


Report •

#6
July 28, 2011 at 19:40:02
I just tried the feature , I'm using Orca....looks like there is no place to submit the change when the preview is accepted...am I missing something? I had to hit the edit button again to get it to stay?

Some HELP in posting on Computing.net plus free progs and instructions Cheers


Report •

#7
July 29, 2011 at 08:41:23
The Edit button is used in the same way as it was before the the Preview feature was added.

It is the Edit button that has always "submitted" the edited post.

I do feel (as I think you do too) that it would be helpful if there was more consistency between the Editor for new posts vs. responses vs. edited responses.

Many other forums use the same layout so that the user is presented with a consistent interface regardless if what type of post they are writing/editing.


Report •

Ask Question