Networks and Broadband

January 21, 2009 at 09:42:21
Specs: Windows XP, celeron 2.66ghz
I have 3 computers on a peer-to-peer network using workgroups and drive-mapping. Connection is via a switch connected to a router for broadband access.
All is well if I use a set ip address range and all computers can see all others, share files etc
However to access broadband I enable automatic ip address on all 3 machines and while all 3 can now access the net only 2 of them can see each other. The 3rd machine uses xp home and the others xp pro.

When I type cmd in the run command box for this 3rd machine it shows
C:\documents and settings\Jim>

Even though Jim is an old user and no longer exists under user accounts and I am logged on as John (administrator)
Could this be the problem and if so how to fully remove old user?


See More: Networks and Broadband

Report •


#1
January 21, 2009 at 10:04:09
You can't do both dhcp and static ip at the same time so all of this makes no sense

"All is well if I use a set ip address range and all computers can see all others, share files etc. However to access broadband I enable automatic ip address on all 3 machines "

Confirm pc 3 has an ip address from your router. Make sure the dhcp scope in the router is providing more than two ips.

concerning the account name it has nothing to do with internet access. Didn't you rename the jim account to john? I don't believe a rename of an account changes the documents and settings name which is what you are seeing.


Report •

#2
January 21, 2009 at 10:35:43
Thanks for quick reply.I don't want to use static ip's at all. I don't think pc3 has an address from router. It seems to have ethernet adaptor lan settings only when i type ipconfig, while the other terminals have a couple of tunnel adaptors as well? Sorry about lack of detail as I am not in front of computers at the moment

Report •

#3
January 21, 2009 at 11:14:14
make sure #3 is set to automatically obtain ip address.

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
January 21, 2009 at 14:13:43
wanderer is right about the account. You obviously just renamed the Jim account name to John. Unless you removed the actual local profile, the John login (formerly Jim) will still use the Jim profile.

"So won’t you give this man his wings
What a shame
To have to beg you to see
We’re not all the same
What a shame" - Shinedown


Report •

#5
January 21, 2009 at 14:48:50
No.3 is set to get automatic ip

and I guess the user name must have been changed instead of deleted


Report •


Ask Question