Solved Domain accidentally switched to workgroup

February 14, 2014 at 10:06:23
Specs: Windows xp
I accidentally switched domain to work group on my computer. It is an office computer that was given to me when to office closed.,It has an 'control alt,delete command to get in,so I can not access anything on line to fix it. How do I change it back?

See More: Domain accidentally switched to workgroup

Report •

#1
February 14, 2014 at 10:17:39
I would advise taking it to your company's IT dept. They will know how to re-connect it to the domain safley without any major issues.

However that being said, if you still want to go ahead yourself.

Right click on "My computer" and go to "Properties". Go to the "Computer name" tab and then click on the button "Change".

In the dialogue box you have the Computer name, and two selections (Member of domain and workgroup). Select Domain and enter your company's domain name.

Windows will then try to re-join the domain.

EDIT: Just re-read and noticed you cannot get in. You will either need the office to supply the local "Administrator" password on the computer, or get them to re-join it to the domian.

message edited by thomasad


Report •

#2
February 14, 2014 at 21:50:41
✔ Best Answer
Turn on the computer and before windows starts to load, start tapping F8. A boot menu should come up. Choose 'safe mode'. If the desktop comes up do a system restore choosing a date from just before you made the boo boo.

If it doesn't go to the desktop, reboot, F8 again and choose 'safe mode, command prompt only' and do the restore as described here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304449


Report •

#3
March 1, 2014 at 20:39:47
How will that work if the user doesn't have a login account with Admin rights?

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 1, 2014 at 21:42:56
It probably wouldn't but I think the original domain change would have required admistrative rights so hopefully the OP will have access.

Report •

#5
March 4, 2014 at 04:41:10
thanks but none of that worked. I have the admin.password,but, I can't get to a point where I can enter it.

Report •

#6
March 4, 2014 at 19:10:17
What happens when you try the system restore, either from safe mode or command prompt?

Report •

#7
March 4, 2014 at 21:45:34
when I went there ,in safe mode it went right to the 'ctrl-alt-delete' page and in control prompt,I got a long list of file locations( I am assuming thats what they're called) but I was not able to enter anything onto this list.
I have even tried to over ride it by using an upgrade disc.

Report •

#8
March 5, 2014 at 06:51:11
Since it's a work computer your best bet will be to take it in to the IT department at work and have them fix it.

It matters not how straight the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate;
I am the captain of my soul.

***William Henley***

message edited by Curt R


Report •

#9
March 5, 2014 at 08:18:55
You just need to go to work and rejoin the domain. You don't need admin rights to do so. You can actually add up to 10 machines. The whole you need admin or IT to fix this is the old way of doing it [NT/2000] but that hasn't been the case for years.

Answers are only as good as the information you provide.
How to properly post a question:
Sorry no tech support via PM's


Report •

#10
March 7, 2014 at 07:11:00
thanks but.....
1. The computer was given to me when the office closed down.
2. I do not and did not work for this company,and I am retired.
Why won't it let me use an upgrade disc to clear the system?

Report •

#11
March 7, 2014 at 13:18:28
A upgrade disk looks for a previous OS license. Since you don't have a previous OS but only the existing full version you need the full version not upgrade disk to do a new install.

Answers are only as good as the information you provide.
How to properly post a question:
Sorry no tech support via PM's


Report •

#12
March 7, 2014 at 19:29:08
The 'long list of file locations' you mention when booting to command prompt in your # 7 is probably the listing of the xp files as they load. That's normal. It should leave you at a c:\> prompt where you can enter the command to start the restore process. Are you not getting the c:\> prompt?

When using an upgrade disk you should be able to do a fresh install or run the recovery console, which might work too. Here's some details on doing an install from both a full and upgrade disk:

http://winsupersite.com/product-rev...


Report •

#13
March 8, 2014 at 05:02:51
no,I'm not getting a c:|>,thats what I was looking for but it never came up. I am thinking that my USB router booster might not be powerful enough or just defective,because I can't get on line to do anything.
thanks for all the help so far,I'm sure we can figure it out sooner or later! :)

Report •

#14
March 8, 2014 at 18:18:37
Why do you have a router hooked up? Doing a fresh install or system recovery doesn't require being online.

If a recovery doesn't seem possible you should try a fresh install. Or (and it looks like this hasn't been looked at yet) your system may have a recovery partition on the hard drive. You might check the manual, if you have it, or post back the model information.


Report •

#15
March 9, 2014 at 12:06:42
Seems we missed something.

The only issue with going from domain to workgroup is you are now logging in with local accounts and you don't have access to the domain profiles on the local drive which is why you can't logon.

This is why you set the administrator account to a password you know before you make the change. There may even be the chance you could type in administrator and hit OK and get in.

But we aren't talking about logons. Sounding more like the system has become damaged.

Exactly what happened when the upgrade disk was used?

Answers are only as good as the information you provide.
How to properly post a question:
Sorry no tech support via PM's


Report •

#16
March 9, 2014 at 13:29:44
for wanderer:
thanks for your input but: the switch from domain to workgroup was an ACCIDENT,I didn't realize it got changed until I went to log in again.
As for what happened when I put the upgrade disc in,absolutely nothing happened.
I can get to 'control,Alt,delete' then to user and password BUT the "domain" line is missing and I get a message saying to check password and try again,and check domain,or words to that effect.

Report •

#17
March 9, 2014 at 20:46:18
If you use the upgrade disk to either attempt a repair or do a reinstall you have to boot from it. I'm not sure if that's what you're doing or trying to do. And in order to boot from it you need to make sure the cd/dvd drive is the first boot device in cmos/bios setup.

Report •

#18
April 10, 2014 at 04:39:28
Thank you to everyone for your input. I tried just about everything that was suggested,but decided before I did something I could not fix,I would just bring it to an IT.That was the best thing to do,it only cost me $50 and it's better than new!
Thanks again

Report •

#19
April 10, 2014 at 20:13:29
We're glad you got it going. Thanks for posting back.

Report •

#20
April 14, 2014 at 10:33:47
Sometimes that is best, especially when the price is reasonable.

You have to be a little bit crazy to keep you from going insane.


Report •

Ask Question