Solved How do I remove the latest update on my I Pad Mini?

October 4, 2015 at 20:04:28
Specs: Windows 10
The latest update has removed my Icon screen and just has a "Siri" like voice. I can't get it to open any ap!

See More: How do I remove the latest update on my I Pad Mini?

Report •

#1
October 5, 2015 at 00:07:10

Report •

#2
October 5, 2015 at 01:09:31
✔ Best Answer
A downgrade to a previous iteration of iOS requires that Apple is still signing those previous versions.

Without knowing which version you are currently running it's impossible to know which downgrade path you are able to take.

If you updated within the last few days you will likely be running iOS 9.0.2

Apple has stopped signing all iOS 8.x.x and iOS 9.0 releases, so the only possible downgrade will now be iOS 9.0.1. Being an incremental update I'm sure the downgrade to 9.0.1 wouldn't be beneficial.

Apple are really strict on downgrading options and don't make that task very pleasant. Now even with a jailbroken Apple device the option to downgrade to an unsigned (previously signed) iOS is nearly impossible where in the past, although with a bit of work, was still achievable.

Going from your description of the current issue with your device I'm almost certain that you have a corrupted install of the latest operating system. The issues that have been raised with the last upgrade have largely been performance and battery life problems.

What you can do is try reinstalling the latest iOS update. If you installed the latest software upgrade OTA (over the air.... Or wirelessly) instead plug the iPad mini into your PC / MAC and let iTunes do the upgrade, I would recommend doing it through iTunes in the future. Almost all corrupted iOS upgrades are due to being done OTA.

Plug your iPad into your computer and fire up iTunes and update iTunes if prompted.

Create a backup of the device using iTunes. Backup all necessary data keeping close attention what you want backed up in the options. Also select the computer for the backup location instead of the cloud. It will be automatically detected when you choose to restore. This option is much quicker and far more secure and stable, i.e you won't lose any precious memories if you have selected them for the backup.

Follow the instructions on restoring your device and then restoring the backup from the link below:

https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT2...

Remember backup all of your data that you wish to keep!

message edited by btk1w1


Report •
Related Solutions


Ask Question