still displays 2 windows 7 after formated

May 10, 2012 at 05:38:19
Specs: Windows 7
hi. i'm having dell laptop and at first i hav only 1 partition so i make it partitioned into 2 more using disk management..
when my OS occurs some problem in booting i simply re-install the OS in another drive by formatting 2 drives and it's working...
but the problem is still my front screen asking for 2 windows 7 to choose but only 1 is working...
how to delete that please anyone help me..

See More: still displays 2 windows 7 after formated

Report •


#1
May 10, 2012 at 05:56:14
You have to format your laptop's hard-disk cleanly. First delete all the partitions then make partitions according to your wish(here two) and install Windows 7 in the first partition. You may be aware of the system reserve partition it creates, ie of 100MB.

Solving Technical queries is my passion and I just Love it !!


Report •

#2
May 10, 2012 at 06:00:48
In Disk Manager delete the partition that had the old installation on it. Use the 'drive' capacity to make sure you are not deleting one of your storage drives. The installation you are in will always be referred to as C drive and cannot be deleted from within Disk Manager. Recover the space by creating a new partition or expanding an existing one. As with all partitioning and formatting, back up to an external drive or unplugged drive so you will not loose important files if there is an error or problem.
Run msconfig and go to the Boot tab and remove the incorrect Windows 7 installation, Apply and Restart the machine. The choice will not be offered again.
If the second installation of Windows 7 is already gone, then simply skip to the second step.

You have to be a little bit crazy to keep you from going insane.


Report •

#3
May 10, 2012 at 08:11:31
There are MANY things you could have tried / can try to fix the problem with your original Windows installation without having to install Windows again.

E.g.

What are the system recovery options in Windows 7?
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/...

For a brand name system,

Click on
To open the System Recovery Options menu on your computer
.....

You now have two Windows installations installed, and Windows automatically used it's multi-boot feature after the second one was installed - you are given the choice of which Windows installation to load.
The top choice is the Windows installation that was loaded second.
The second choice is the original Windows installation.


You could delete the partition that has the original Windows installation on it, but that doesn't change the drive letter of the partition Windows itself sees itself as having been installed on, and you will still see the screen that asks you which Windows installation to load, which you can get rid of later by edfiting a certain file. .

The first choice - the second Windows installation - probably sees itself as having been installed on a partition that has a drive letter other than C - D. or a drive letter higher than that alphabetically.
Type: msinfo32 in the Start Search box, press Enter. On the right side of the resulting screen, find the line that says Windows directory - the drive letter at the beginning of the location is the drive letter of the partition Windows sees itself as having been installed on. You can't change that drive letter (e.g. in Disk Management) for an existing Windows installation.

Windows will run fine even if it sees itself as installed on a partition with a drive letter other than C, but you have to remember that it doesn't see itself as installed on C in certain situations that assume it is seeing itself as installed on C, e.g. you may need to change the instructions to accommodate to that drive letter.
.............

The first Wiindows installation has all the data on it that you have added to that partition since you first used that Windows installation.
When you use a new Windows installation, that data is not there on the same partition Windows was installed on.
If you delete the first partition, or the data on the first partition the original Windows installation was installed on, that data that you have added will be deleted.

If you choose to delete the first partition, or the data on the first partition the original Windows installation was installed on, if yuou have any personal data on thaty partition you do not want to lose, you should copy that to elsewhere BEFORE you do any of those things.
E.g. load the first Windows installation choice, copy the data from the first partition that you don't want to lose to elsewhere - an external hard drive, a USB flash drive, to burned CDs or DVDs.
...............

I recommend that you boot the computer from the Windows DVD, then delete the SECOND partition, then exit Setup, then attempt to repair the problem with your original Windows installation.
In any case, after you have done that, you can boot the computer from the Windows DVD and attempt to fix your problem(s) ..

See this....

What are the system recovery options in Windows 7?
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/...

For a brand name system,

Click on
To open the System Recovery Options menu on your computer

If that doesn't help, there are many other thiongs you could try.

E.g. If the Windows DVD has the same Windows SP updates as are installed in Windows on the first partition, then you can follow a procedire to do the equivalent of a Repair installation of Windows 7, oftyen called a Repair Install. .

Repair Install For Vista
http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/8...

There's probably a similar procedure for Windows 7 on that same web site.

If that doesn' help, THEN you could delete everything on the hard drive after booting the computer from the Windows DVD and install Windows from scratch, but if you have data on the first partition you DO NOT want to lose, you should copy that data to elsewhere BEFORE you delete everything from the hard drive./


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
May 14, 2012 at 06:59:18
thankzzzz a lot friendzzz:-)

Report •

Ask Question