Can I update Desktop BIOS to install Win8 Release Preview

June 7, 2012 at 01:11:06
Specs: Windows XP
Hi Everyone,
I have Windows XP SP3 on desktop computer, And I tried to install Windows 8 Release Preview, But there is a message appears that says that my CPU doesn't match!
And after I search over the internet I find many solutions that said I have to enable NX or XD Flag in security tap of BIOS!
But after i search BIOS I didn't find NX or XD Flag in Security Options or any where else!
So I want to know if there any update for the BIOS. I tried for hours to find any updates but I didn't find any thing.

Here is BIOS information:

BIOS Type: Phoenix-Award
BIOS Date: June 17th 2005
BIOS ID: 06/17/2005-P4M800-8237-6A7L200GC-00-None
BIOS OEM: P4M800-M Ver 1.0b 06/17/2005 - 6.00 PG
Chipset: VIA 82C296 rev 0
SuperIO: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 3 at port 002E
Manufacturer: PCCHIPS
Motherboard: P25G

Thanks in Advance.


See More: Can I update Desktop BIOS to install Win8 Release Preview

Report •

#1
June 7, 2012 at 03:50:19
That motherboard is old, seven years old. Even if you did manage to install Windows 8 it is very unlikely you would be able to get hardware drivers for it and the performance would be abysmal.


You would be better sticking with Windows XP

Stuart


Report •

#2
June 7, 2012 at 05:39:18
Thank you StuartS, In this case I think i'll install windows 7.

Report •

#3
June 7, 2012 at 05:53:37

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
June 7, 2012 at 11:01:17
Windows 7 will be no better.

Stuart


Report •

#5
June 7, 2012 at 11:49:27
It's an 800MHz fsb board. As long as there's enough RAM and a dx9 video card, it will easily run Win7. And if you can tolerate that stupid Metro interface, it will actually run Win8 faster than 7.

HTPC | Pentium M @ 2.82GHz, 2MB L2) | 4GB | 1.0TB | Radeon HD5750 | Blu-Ray
Win 7 Pro | Modified PowerMac G4 QuickSilver case


Report •

#6
June 7, 2012 at 22:25:38
"I tried to install Windows 8 Release Preview, But there is a message appears that says that my CPU doesn't match!"


What are the exact words of the message you're getting ?


Report •

Ask Question