Solved windows driver update message

February 11, 2014 at 15:23:56
Specs: Windows XP, 2 GB Ram
while I was on the computer, a notice popped up saying "Windows-XP.driverupdate.net
it also said Microsoft Certified (Recommended)
should I click onto that?
I am on Mozilla firefox now trying it out.
I just now noticed the same update message here.
Thanks for any help Nicki

message edited by NickiRN


See More: windows driver update message

Report •

#1
February 11, 2014 at 16:44:16
If it is on some website, there is a pretty good chance that it will only give you adware. There is also a chance that there is malware on your computer that is causing the popup, although that is very doubtful because most viruses would download the files with or without your permission. Try closing any browsers and see if the box is still there, and if so download it.

If a Microsoft OS is saying it is Microsoft Certified, then it is definitely legit, so long as it looks like an actual UAC popup.

I doubt not downloading it would do much, driver updates just allow for more compatibility and such. If you aren't having any problems at the moment then it isn't a required update.


Report •

#2
February 12, 2014 at 13:57:07
Thanks NT56erbx. appreciate that.I had selected your answer as the best one then deleted it as I wanted you to answer another question about the Xp-Driver download
If you notice, there is the same message at the top of this thread.and it has an arrow to click onto that will take you to the download.
so does that mean it is safe to download or should I not?
Nicki

message edited by NickiRN


Report •

#3
February 12, 2014 at 14:09:03
✔ Best Answer
Personally, I don't see the ad, as I have ads disabled on this site.

My Home > Settings > near the bottom, there is a check box that says disable ads or something.

If it is in a web browser, meaning it would disappear if you closed the browser, then it is DEFINITELY NOT safe to click on. Most likely it would just give you random junk that would clog up your computer. If you didn't specifically go to a site to download something, then don't click on it. Even if it says 'Required Update' or 'Really Important', they are just trying to trick you into downloading their crap. Just ignore it.

Like I said, if you close the browser but the box persists, then it most likely is OK to click on. Just make sure you close ALL browser windows, as it could be a separate popup window, depending on the browser.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
February 12, 2014 at 14:23:26
thanks again for your fast answer. I closed the browser and the thing was not there so I will not click onto it,
Nicki

Report •

Ask Question