Solved Where do deleted files go?

Dell Inspiron 1545
December 5, 2009 at 09:20:24
Specs: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Pentium 2 GHz dual cpre/ 3 GB
I went thru some files save on my computer. I have alot of things saved in folders. I deleted what I do not need. Sometimes I get a message the files are too big for the recycle bin. I delete them anyway but where do they go? Are they still somewhere on my drive?

Jesus Loves You!

Keyboard not detected. Hit F1 to Continue. BREAKFAST.SYS HALTED Cerial port not Responding!!

See More: Where do deleted files go?

Report •

December 5, 2009 at 09:30:38
No, these files are deleted directly and permanently.
It's the same as when you hold the SHIFT-key and press delete, to delete files.
The files are deleted and can not be recovered from the recycle.bin.

Report •

December 5, 2009 at 09:58:54
✔ Best Answer
To further answer your question all deleted files are not actually moved anywhere but simply tagged as deleted or moved to the recycle bin.

Those files that are deleted directly can be overwritten. Files sent to the recycle bin no longer show in explorer but are still intact and won't be overwritten until the threshold for recycle bin space is exceeded.

Once that happens they may not be recoverable. Before then there are many programs that can recover deleted files, even ones too big for recycle bin.

The key is whether they have been overwritten yet.

Try downloading recuva. It is free and works.

Report •

December 5, 2009 at 10:34:48
To heaven...

-Ryan Adams

Free Computer Tips and more:
Paid Tech Support: Black Diamond

Report •

Related Solutions

December 5, 2009 at 12:05:18
To heaven?

Perhaps. I have a feeling that most of mine go straight to hell.

If ChrisG is asking the original question because he's deleted something or other that he wants back, the Othehill has the answer. If this is the case, then I suggest backing up anything before deleting in the first place. CDs/DVDs and flash sticks are cheap as chips these days.

Report •

December 5, 2009 at 14:19:58
Pretty sure the first charctor of the file index table is changed with a special charactor. No data on a microsoft system is deleted at all.

Playing to the angels
Les Paul (1915-2009)

Report •

December 6, 2009 at 14:45:43
No, doing the job correctly, would be too difficult ... it's typical of Microsoft. In theory, it would be very easy though, overwriting all data with 0 value ... well, maybe in the NEXT Windows version, and then we'll announce it as a "major security improvement", and not as a bugfix that has been denied for more than 15 years

Report •

December 6, 2009 at 14:49:33
Real anwser no files are permantly deleted with the right software the can be retrieved from when the drive was new. only real solution is distroy the drive physically.

But to anwser your question yes the files have been deleted. As far as taking up space and been visible on yah drive anymore.

Report •

Ask Question