Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
I've got a file on my computer called rtdrvmon.exe, and it is located in c:\windows\temp, does anyone know what this file is? I tried deleting it but it comes back when i restart my computer, and i also virus scanned it and it was fine, also wen i ran it nothing happened!!!
Can someone please explain to me what it is? the reason why i am worried about it is because once when i was surfing the net, a download window appeared by itself and wanted me to download some kind of exe file, i clicked on cancel anyway but i don't know what happened after that, and this file name looks similar to that one, although i can't remember exactly what it was.
Ullysis Professional Gaming
www.ullysis.com

Or was this an attempt of someone trying to hack my computer by wanting me to download the file?
Ullysis Professional Gaming
www.ullysis.com

Hi Rule,
Do a full scan with an updated AV program.
▫ [on-line] BitDefender Anti-Virus
▫ [on-line] RAV Anti-Virus (AV Security)
▫ [on-line] ActiveScan Anti-Virus (Panda)
▫ [on-line] HouseCall Anti-Virus (Trend Micro)
▫ nod32 Anti-Virus (eset)
▫ F-Prot Anti-Virus (F-Secure)
▫ AVG Anti-Virus (Grisoft)And do Spybot & Adaware too.
▫ Spybot Search & Destroy (Safer Networking)
▫ Ad-aware (Lavasoft)
▫ CWShredder (Merijn.org)
▫ TDS-3 (DiamondCS)
▫ Pest Patrol
▫ [on-line] TrojanScan (GFi)
Keep in mind that some of them may need to be updated over the web first when started, and before zapping the baddies!And never run an .exe that's suspicious.
___________________________________________
☺ [Belgium, GMT+1]_________________________svg

scout211: Yep, i have a Lexmark prinet, is it to do with that?
svg: i done a scan and ad-aware and it didnt find nothing.
im going to try those links u gave me though.
Ullysis Professional Gaming
www.ullysis.com

Rule & scout211:
I also found just that one link in Google that lead to a post by some french Marie, who got an ntvdm error related to rtdrvmon.exe & the lexmark printer.
So, that rtdrvmon.exe is probably harmless, but I wasn't sure why you linked that file to hacker-activity & download popups. That's why I told you to do some scanning.
___________________________________________
☺ [Belgium, GMT+1]_________________________svg

Ok, cool, i'm running the online trojan scan at the moment, very good site, thanks for that.
Ullysis Professional Gaming
www.ullysis.com

![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |