Articles

system volume information deleting

March 21, 2009 at 16:14:52
Specs: Windows XP

i read alot about not deleting it but on my 10gb its takes up 1.6gb of space, a whooping 16%, from what i read it saves restore restore points, i've only used that twice, both for the same reason, which i did only to make space(deleting msn explorer deleted IE, second tiem, forgot)

so if i delete this folder that would delete alll points, but i never use it, so you think it would be fine to delete it?

btw, i have backup of all important folders and files to me,and i able able to wipe and reinstall windows xp


See More: system volume information deleting

Report •


#1
March 21, 2009 at 16:30:51

By default System Restore uses 12% maximum of each partition it is activated on. Do you have more than one partition?

If your system is operating fine then you can do this. Go to Start> help and support> system restore> system restore settings. Turn off system restore and then immediately reset it. That will remove all old restore points. Now, set the percentage lower. say 5% instead of 12%. I believe that when the threshold is reached the oldest restore point is thrown away when a new one is about to be created.

If you maintain backups then I suggest that you create a restore point just prior to making changes to your system. That is when System Restore is most useful. To undo a bad installation.


Report •

#2
March 22, 2009 at 04:49:30

This will remove all Restore Points, except the latest one ---
http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...
Description of the Disk Cleanup Tool in Windows XP

More cleanup if you have any Service Packs ---
http://www.aumha.net/viewtopic.php?...
XP SP3: Post Installation Cleanup

SP3 includes all previously released Windows XP updates,
including security updates, hotfixes, and select out-of-bandreleases.


Report •

#3
March 22, 2009 at 07:24:35

If you turn off system Restore it will delete all restore points but you will still have the system volume Information folder but it will be an empty folder. You still cant delete it though and even if you do manage to it will still be recreated next time you reboot.

Stuart


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 22, 2009 at 08:27:12

When you open System Restore, on the left side you can look at the settings it is presently set to. The default is it uses up to 12% of your partiion space, but you can reduce that if you like.

You may not be aware that some of the software you install automatically makes restore points in the background.

I DO NOT recommend you turn off System Restore all the time - it's certainly not perfect, but if you are not using some other other method to back up important data, it's much better than nothing.


Report •

#5
March 22, 2009 at 17:34:20

thank you everyone, its all fixed now

Report •


Ask Question