Prevent System Restore from monitoring USB HD

Microsoft Windows xp home edition with s...
May 30, 2010 at 06:34:45
Specs: Windows XP
How can I permanently prevent System Restore from enabling monitoring my external USB hard drives every time I start up my system? I'm tired of having to go into the System Restore settings and disabling System Restore from my data only hard drives without disabling it from my main drive also. There has to be a fix/workaround to make this happen! I have 2 DELL PCs, one with XP Home & the other with XP Pro. Please, help!!!!

See More: Prevent System Restore from monitoring USB HD

Report •

May 30, 2010 at 09:41:46
Leave it connected?


Report •

May 30, 2010 at 09:56:01
The link below includes the fix you are looking for.

Why it is a bad practice to let System Restore monitor an external drive.


Report •

May 30, 2010 at 10:00:01
racoons13 -- It is possible to do exactly what you want... I am doing it on my system, so I understand your frustration. Either there is a separate underlying problem with your system that prevents you from disabling the monitoring of your non-system drives, or you are missing a step in implementing this "permanently".

In my case:
C drive -- monitoring
D drive -- turned off
K drive -- turned off

C drive is the OS drive, D drive is the Recovery partition, K drive is a USB external.

Report •

Related Solutions

May 30, 2010 at 15:28:57
My USB drive holds off System Restore OK on XP Home. Are you saying that the item "Turn off System Restore on this drive" immediately becomes unticked again?

Google is NOT the only Search Engine!

Report •

May 31, 2010 at 23:25:54
Thanks, but, NONE of that, so far, solves my problem!
I'm sharing all my external drives with 3 systems. At different times, of course!
I've got 3 USB hdd, all going through switches routed to each of my 2 Dell desktop systems, and 1 Dell laptop. A 250G is my backup/backup, an 80G is for direct file backup and working "temp" space, plus a small 30G for an extra "temp" folder. help...

Report •

May 31, 2010 at 23:33:26
I switch the 80G and 30G drives to whatever system is working (sometimes, if 2 systems are working at the same time, they can be split-up. The 250G is switched to wherever a backup is needed to be taken. But, everytime I start a system using the external drives, SystemRestore starts monitoring them. So, I have to disable them, every friggin time!! help.....

Report •

Ask Question