Computing.Net > Forums > Windows XP > Is this virus for a site address?

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Is this virus for a site address?

Reply to Message Icon

Name: lch
Date: October 21, 2005 at 04:08:11 Pacific
OS: windows XP Sp2
CPU/Ram: 320MB
Comment:

I got this in my history

http://www211.paypopup.com/links.php?data=rSe_2/þ*3-/{03&$S\7X`Yp+hsLa^20|)*%$^a^2/þ*3-/{03&&serverfile=paypopup&id=cbox&subid=23100&tid=1129812891&clater=true&m=127&o=1&c=4097&a=32767&q=6&s=<=&ah=10&al=0&l=english&campaign=&rurl=&ref=http://cbox.ws/box/ads_popup.php&os=W1&bs=I2&isframe=true&bk=2

It seems strange, is this virus?



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: blackbill
Date: October 21, 2005 at 04:34:38 Pacific
Reply:

I won't bother to click on it just in case... but just by looking at it, I would have to say no. It LOOKS more like a counter.

The owner of a pop up advertizement must pay the websight for the use of space and one of the ways they do this is by keeping track of how many times the add pops on somebodys screen.


0

Response Number 2
Name: Bryco
Date: October 21, 2005 at 06:30:13 Pacific
Reply:

What was it's title or name in History? What website was the link attached to? Or more specifically, why did you not state which site it was attached to?

So, was this a ploy created by LCH to get people to open that page so LCH can get paid?

If so, then at least make it a clickable link.
If not, then delete it from your History.

Sincerely,
Bryan


0

Response Number 3
Name: Dog
Date: October 21, 2005 at 17:19:37 Pacific
Reply:

Just googling for a certain section of that URL led to 4 sites that tried to download files. I quickly got out of the sites but did notice that one of the attempted downloads was a *.sid file. Maybe someone else knows more about these but personally I would consider the URL malicious at the very least.

D4Dog
"beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder"


0

Response Number 4
Name: lch
Date: October 21, 2005 at 19:22:22 Pacific
Reply:

Because it got into my history, and someone said it install a sid file, how do i get rid of it?


0

Response Number 5
Name: Bryco
Date: October 22, 2005 at 04:07:47 Pacific
Reply:

.sid does not appear to be of a malicious nature.
See http://filext.com/detaillist.php?extdetail=sid for more info. See the lower portion of the page too.

Bryan


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: Dog
Date: October 22, 2005 at 06:00:27 Pacific
Reply:

Maybe so Bryan but just the fact that it requested the download and asked which file I should use to open it, to me, makes it malicious. Especially considering Symantec use those extensions. Anything like that has the ability to interfere with your AV and disable features.

D4Dog
"beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder"


0

Response Number 7
Name: Bryco
Date: October 22, 2005 at 06:33:12 Pacific
Reply:

The extension does not appear to be malicious in itself.

I would still like to know the name of the History item as it is listed. Is it a site that you chose to visit?

Bryan


0

Response Number 8
Name: lch
Date: October 22, 2005 at 19:11:05 Pacific
Reply:

this site appeared when i enter

www.(someonename).blogspot.com.


0

Response Number 9
Name: Dog
Date: October 23, 2005 at 00:50:52 Pacific
Reply:

hmmmm...(someone)????
a name would help.

D4Dog
"beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder"


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon

zoomed video batch file



Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Windows XP Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: Is this virus for a site address?

G3G16dX7.exe is this a virus ? www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/g3g16dx7exe-is-this-a-virus-/170582.html

is this site legitimate? www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/is-this-site-legitimate/147905.html

Is this Normal or a problem www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/is-this-normal-or-a-problem/123099.html