I have an old computer user that isn't needed

May 20, 2011 at 04:11:27
Specs: Windows XP, 256 MB
I reinstalled Windows a month ago via System Restore and it back-upped my files automatically. I have already retrieved all my files to my new one, so can I safely delete the old one where the back-upped files were once in? I think it's useless right now, since I won't use it anyways.

See More: I have an old computer user that isnt needed

Report •

May 20, 2011 at 10:22:04
If you're certain you've retrieved all the necessary files, then just format the hard-drive. You may want to hang onto it, however, in case something goes wrong with your new machine or just to experiment with something new like Linux. (Sorry, it's just the pack-rat in me that says that...)

"Channeling the spirit of jboy..."

Report •

May 20, 2011 at 22:30:50
Thanks for answering, but I don't actually have a Windows CD to format it, but I guess I'm okay with this now.

Report •

May 21, 2011 at 02:53:14
If you just want to delete one user, go to user accounts, then you can delete all the files for that user.

A thank you would be nice, if I have helped.

Report •

Related Solutions

Ask Question