i am not able to access my files on the old deleted acnt

January 31, 2012 at 21:39:01
Specs: Windows XP
i am not able to access files of deleted default acnt of windows xp,,......plz help me so that i can delete those files and see wether i need any of those,,...plz help

See More: i am not able to access my files on the old deleted acnt

Report •

January 31, 2012 at 23:25:07
You have to take ownership of the folders and files. See this KB article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308421

Report •

February 1, 2012 at 12:41:59
You can't access files that are no longer there.

If you deleted a user account, ALL the files and folders for that user that were in C:\Documents and Settings\That user's name\that user's subfolders, and the parent \That user's name folder, are DELETED. They DO NOT show up in the Recycle Bin.

You cannot get all those files and folders back unless you use some sort of un-delete program immediately after you deleted the user.

If you want to get some of those files and folders back, the longer you wait after having deleted the user, the fewer files and folders you will be able to successfully recover, because Windows will have overwritten the location of where the file or folder was located.

If it's been a while since you deleted the user, there's no point in trying an un-delete program - the data you wanted to restore is probably not recoverable.

Most of the time when you delete something in Windows, it's sent to the Recycle Bin. It isn't actually deleted for good from the drive until you empty the Recycle Bin.

Deleting a user account doesn't send that user's data to the Recycle Bin,

When Windows deletes a file for good, the first character of the file's location is changed to indicate to Windows that the space formerly occupied by the file is available for data. The rest of the data is still there until it is overwritten by other data, but the longer you wait, the more likely it's been overwritten.

A complication is the un-delete program will also find files and folders on the same partition, e.g. C:, that you intended to delete and had emptied the Recycle Bin of.

Report •

February 1, 2012 at 13:25:28
I believe that when you delete a user in XP it asks you whether you want to delete the data or keep it. And it is, of course, quite possible for a user to own files that are not stored in their profile (files stored on an external drive, for instance).

Report •

Related Solutions

February 1, 2012 at 15:29:19
"I believe that when you delete a user in XP it asks you whether you want to delete the data or keep it."

When you attempt to delete the user in XP, a short message pops up that many don't bother to read, along the lines of, "Are you Sure ? All the data for the user will be deleted ! "

If you continue, that user's data is deleted.

As in , all the data in (Windows partition drive letter):\Documents and Settings\That user\That user's subfolders and files, and That user's parent folder.

You ARE NOT given the option of saving the data .

(Windows partition drive letter): =

The drive letter of the partition Windows itself was installed is usually, but NOT always, C: in XP, even for a single operating system installation on a computer.

Report •

Ask Question