How to desactivate automatic copy of photos?

October 12, 2016 at 08:33:18
Specs: Windows XP
After transferring my photos to the file "My documents" under Windows XP, if I select some to delete them then unwanted auto copies of the deleted photos appear and the process repeats itself indefinitely How can I desactivate that function. I've tried everywhere and consulted various forums without an answer

See More: How to desactivate automatic copy of photos?

Reply ↓  Report •


#1
October 12, 2016 at 12:39:38
How are you transferring these photos and where are you transferring them from?

Where are the unwanted copies appearing?

What program are you using to view the photos?

Are you using a third party backup software program?


Reply ↓  Report •

#2
October 12, 2016 at 15:21:45
The closest I ever came to anything that would help was in Tweak UI under IE4 Tab. Put a check mark in the line for Detect Accidental Double Clicks seems to stop the vast majority of timing mistakes with the mouse buttons being taken for producing copies of files within the same folder instead of trying to just highlight a string of them as you wanted. 98 TweakUI has it and it's all I use with XP as I never cared for XP version of Tweak -- they took out all the good stuff I want to tweak = less than useless to me.

Can't even help you name the function there, I also would like to know myself what it's called when the mouse has captured the left click on the right side scroll bar and where ever your mouse goes the scroll bar goes up and down with it at the speed of light. I need to hammer the registry with the 'get off the friggin button already' value so it's NEVER employed for more than 1/10 of second. My mouse locks up with this function in full bloom and it won't turn loose of the scroll bar when it does want to work. Insanity. I don't want or have a use for this feature, much like making copies of files I already have but now renamed to copy(3) of xxxxx.jpg. Again I have no use for this feature.

Lee


Reply ↓  Report •

#3
October 12, 2016 at 18:16:49
I know of no inbuilt function that does this. Are you in the My Documents" folder when you try to delete them or are you using some sort of gallery?

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Reply ↓  Report •

Related Solutions

#4
October 13, 2016 at 01:01:41
Speaking for me only, it doesn't matter which folder so system My Documents will do it too and not uniquely there only. Win98 out of the box did it too. Not necessarily deleting files, but the process of highlighting several in a block to either cut and paste them elsewhere or copy and paste them elsewhere too. Once the block of files is highlighted, one goes to right click the highlighted file block to select the operation and before you get the menu to select the desired operation from, the screen blinks and you are now at the bottom of the listing looking at a same sized highlighted block all prefixed with 'copy of' same file names and this grows to 'copy (1) of' if you can't get on top of the built in feature of Windows Explorer quick enough to not have preexisting 'copy of's in that same folder already. Similar in method to New Folder (11) if you already have 10 other New Folders with all of them default numbered too.

Can't get to it if I ever did want to use this feature either. It only happens by mistake here. To be fair it might be a 'feature' of Tweak UI itself, I can't recall the exact order of installation and the occurrence of 'copy of' issues. TweakUI does have the Copy To, and Move To toy just as a reminder -- have no idea if it's involved or not, I don't use it.

Lee


Reply ↓  Report •

#5
October 13, 2016 at 01:22:08
Reply to OtheHill's questions :

- After highlighting the photos I click"suppress" to put them in the recycle bin (or use "delete" in the "file" menu) and when I confirm with OK the system deletes them but instataneously creates new copies of them in the same folder (My documents/my images).
- I view the photos with Window XP built in program.
- I'm using Window Back up.


Reply ↓  Report •

#6
October 13, 2016 at 05:00:25
I have also done what #4 mentions but this is when I have accidentally hit rename when a block of files is highlighted. It can't repeat the same name for all so it adds (1) (2) etc to them. Whatever, this is usually finger trouble. If it happens every time and always then it is obviously something else.

Are you in a computer folder when you get this issue or is it something that happens when you are in a photo viewer or gallery?

You mentioned "Window XP built in program". I assume you mean Windows Photo Viewer (the name should show at the top when you are using it).

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks

message edited by Derek


Reply ↓  Report •

#7
October 13, 2016 at 08:44:52
So you are not storing the photos in the default location?

You didn't answer where the photos originally came from and how they got on the computer.

I am not familiar with a keystroke called "suppress". Try duplicating the action but look at the top of the screen to learn the name of the program you are using.

If you wish to permanently remove a photo you should use delete. Then empty the recycle bin for it to be permanently gone.


Reply ↓  Report •

#8
October 14, 2016 at 02:07:16
Hello Othehill,

The photos come from a CD and i store them in the folder "My Documents/my pictures". It's when I try to delete them from this folder in the aforesaid mode that the system duplicates them in the same folder.


Reply ↓  Report •

#9
October 14, 2016 at 07:43:26
Re #8
Does this happen every time or only sometimes?

If you copy them into some other folder does the same thing happen when you delete them from there?

It is not a normal function - other folk don't get this so something has gone wrong.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Reply ↓  Report •

#10
October 15, 2016 at 02:45:36
How are you deleting them? Are you right-clicking and selecting Delete, or are you just pressing the Delete key on your keyboard? Once you select the files, if you're right-clicking, it's very easy to click the wrong option and end up with copies rather than deleting the files.

As was mentioned above, I'm curious to know what the "suppress" command is.

Doing the best I can here... And remember, there's always more than one path to success. :)

message edited by Jennifer SUMN


Reply ↓  Report •

#11
October 19, 2016 at 15:13:40
OP seems to have vanished as they too often do, my only comment is about the 'suppress' option that he has and we have never seen. Perhaps it's a foreign language kind of deal where delete has been replaced with suppress in his drop down menu? All I got.

Lee


Reply ↓  Report •


Ask Question