How do i give myself full control?

March 10, 2009 at 04:58:36
Specs: Windows XP
I am a client on a domain and in security settings i DID have "full control" rights and the option to change any settings such as full control, modify, read, write, but i unchecked "full control" and clicked apply etc...

Now the option to change any of these settings are greyed out, why could i change the full control setting once as a client and now all options are unavailable, seems weird a client can even do this, i thought only admin would be able to do something like this, and again, can i as a client change it back to having "full control"??

PIC

http://i44.tinypic.com/mv5l6d.jpg


See More: How do i give myself full control?

Report •


#1
March 10, 2009 at 06:02:11
The only way to redo this is to do it under an admin log-in that has full rights.

It might be possible to use system restore and restore the computer to a different time/day...but I am not sure that work on that setting or not!

Change Is Good
http://www.citizenlink.org/Stopligh...


Report •

#2
March 10, 2009 at 06:14:47
I couldn't do a SR anyway as i don't have admin rights, your systems admin doesn't really know either, we were just messing about with some settings, and don't really understand why a client has the ability to change these settings once and then after they are greyed out, what is the point in this, shouldn't these settings only be changable by the systems admin(domain controller)?

Report •

#3
March 10, 2009 at 07:00:08
By "Client" do you mean "User?" Why did you have the ability to change permissions? Simple, if a user has Full Control, then he/she can certainly change permissions. If this is a work computer, you might want to be careful what you do, as many companies do not encourage users in regard to changing permissions.

Also, a System Administrator is a person, and a Domain Controller is a computer.

My advice, don't mess around with something you know nothing about.

EEOC


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 10, 2009 at 09:13:28
Right click any System EXE, like System Restore,
then click "Run as...".
You then may be able to run it as Administrator.
I doubt that SR will correct any settings changes.

Using System Restore too many times can cause
more harm than good. After doing a restore
that does not fix a problem, then UNDO the
Restoration, and try another restore point, or
just do the UNDO.


Report •

#5
March 10, 2009 at 11:31:00
This isn't essential, the systems admin can change my settings back to full control if he wants from his machine but why do i on my pc have the ability to unckeck say the full control click apply and then all settings here, become greyed out, what is the thinking behind this.

It's kind of like saying, ok the sys admin can chage the settings on a users pc once only by doinf this is they want, maybe the whole thing hasn't been setup right in the first place, maybe i'm not suppose to be able to chagne any of these settings in the first place;;;


Report •


Ask Question