Solved during windows xp start up logon message

July 4, 2011 at 01:48:42
Specs: Windows XP
I would appreciate some help to try and remove a message which appears during Windows startup.
It has appeared each time on startup since I password protected the computer. "The system could not log you on. Make sure your User name and domain are correct, then type your password again..." A Logon to Windows box sits on the screen behing the message but is not accessible and disappears after I click OK on the Logon message. Startup goes on to the window where I can type in the password and it all works fine from there.

See More: during windows xp start up logon message

Report •

July 7, 2011 at 01:43:57
this sounds like you are using a remote session? are you connecting remotely to another PC? are you on a domain?

Report •

July 7, 2011 at 02:52:33
No I'm not on either of those things as far as I'm aware.
I have had this HP Compaq PC for a few years - it was 2nd-hand from a business where it was networked. A few weeks ago I set up the password protection for the first time and the message began - could that have re-activated some earlier setting which is now getting in the way?

Report •

July 8, 2011 at 06:18:24
✔ Best Answer
right click on My computer >> propreties >> computer name

within this field you'll be able to see whether your PC belongs to a domain.

if your computer belongs to a domain you want to change that to a workstation from the "change" menu (give it any name).

check local users via

press "Windows Key" + "R" >> type "control userpasswords2" and hit enter, from there you'll be able to manage local users and leave the ones you want.

Report •

Related Solutions

July 8, 2011 at 06:19:16
let me know how you're getting on. depending what enviroment you're in the steps to solve your problem will be different.

Report •

July 8, 2011 at 13:19:23
ursynw - thank you so much for your help. The problem is solved!
I followed your first instruction and did not see that my pc belonged to any domain -so what I did was this:
right click on My computer >>properties>>computer name
I then chose Network ID >> this opened the Network Identification Wizard >>Next>>selected the second radio button "this computer is for home use and is not part of a business network ">>next>>finish.
Then the computer restarted and the annoying message does not appear any more. Success!!
I've re-started a couple of times to check and it's all ok. The only other change (and it's not of any consequence to me) is that instead of my computer's name appearing bottom left of the Welcome screen with the turn off button it just says Turn off computer.
You have been very helpful - this is a fantastic facility. Very impressive.

Report •

Ask Question