Do rescue disks wipe all data?

Hewlett-packard / Pavilion 6000
January 26, 2009 at 03:01:41
Specs: WinXP Pro SP2, 1.6GB/512DDR2
Hello,

I have had a problem with my windows and want to use the rescue disks, to solve me problem.

I have created some rescure disks when I first bought my notebook (2 years ago).

However, since then I have a lot of data on my D drive. About 70 GB. The rescure disks
will revert the notebook back to the when I created my rescue disks.

I think this could be the only option for me to some how get my notebook working again.
However, I am not sure if the rescure disks will wipe off all my data on my D drive? Or
does it just restore the windows operating system?

Can anyone tell me this for sure.

Many thanks


See More: Do rescue disks wipe all data?

Report •


#1
January 26, 2009 at 03:35:51
Rescue disks? If you meant "Recovery CD" that you created by using HP Recovery CD creator wizard, it is always destructive. All Recovery CDs do not provide options to repair Windows other than to restire everything back to factory preinstalled state,

i_Xp/VistaUser


Report •

#2
January 26, 2009 at 04:15:59
If the D: drive is on a separate phisical drive, and not a second partition on the same drive as C:, you could disconnect the D: drive until after you complete the re-install. --Just to be sure...

Report •

#3
January 26, 2009 at 04:18:21
Sorry, I should've looked at your header. A notebook. Not likely, to have a second HD (although possible). Guess I'm not awake yet...

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
January 26, 2009 at 07:21:10
Hello,

Thanks for the response.

Yes, I used the HP recovery wizard to
create my 3 DVD.

Thanks,


Report •

#5
January 26, 2009 at 09:52:55
Here is what you may see when you boot to and start using the Recovery CD:

First screen ...

QUIT AND BACKUP YOUR DATA FILES BEFORE TRYING THIS DESTRUCTIVE RECOVERY OPTION. SEE WARNING BELOW.

**WARNING** THIS DESTRUCTIVE RECOVERY WILL RE-FORMAT THE USER PARTITION ON THE HARD DRIVE AND RECOVER ALL APPLICATIONS, DRIVERS AND THE OPERATING SYSTEM TO FACTORY-SHIPPED CONDITION. ACCORDINGLY, ALL YOUR PERSONAL DATA FILES AND APPLICATIONS (INCLUDING UPGRADES OR REVISIONS TO FACTORY-SHIPPED APPLICATIONS) THAT YOU INSTALLED YOURSELF WU=ILL BE DELETED. Accordingly, after Destructive Recovery is finished, you will need to re-install and re-configure any applications (including upgrades or revisions to the factory-shipped applications) that you installed yourself. YOUR DATA FILES WILL NEED TO BE RESTORED FROM BACKUP.

Next screen another warning ...

Your hard drive will now be reformatted. All files on your hard drive will be deleted and your PC will be reinstalled with its original factory settings.

Do you wish to continue?

For further info read this HP article.

i_Xp/VistaUser


Report •


Ask Question