|You can name a user account anything you like EXCEPT that you can NOT name it Administrator, which is the name of the built in Administrator user account, and you can't name it the same name as another account.|
The built in Administrator user account is only accessible when you boot into Safe mode, unless there are no other users that have administator rights when you boot normally.
When you attempt to delete a user, a brief message pops up that says something like "Are you sure ? All the data for the user will be deleted !"
If you continue and delete the user....
EVERYTHING for that user listed in C:\Documents and Settings\(that user)\(all that users files and folders), and the C:\Documents and Settings\(that user) folder, are deleted and they DO NOT appear in the Recycle Bin.
That includes everything for that user in
- My Documents and all it's sub folders - My Music, My Pictures, etc.
- if that user was using an email program that's installed on the computer, all the saved emails, attachments, the saved email addresses or contacts, etc.
- all personally placed shortcuts, files, and folders that were on the desktop screen
- all personal Favorites for Internet Exporer (saved links to web sites)
- many programs also store personal info and settings there. E.g.other internet browsers, other email programs.
If you delete a user and then make another one with the same name, those files and folders ARE NOT restored.
The only way you can get those deleted files and folders restored is by using an un-delete program of some sort. The longer you wait before you do that while still using Windows on the same computer, the fewer files and folders that can be successfully restored.
For the best results, do NOT use Windows on the same computer at all ! Connect the drive to another computer that has an operating system such that you are not booting the computer from your drive, and run the un-delete program on your hard drive contents.
If you can't access a file or folder when you use a user when you boot normally, if that user has administrator rights, you can Take Ownership of the files and folders you can't access and be able to access them.
How to take ownership of a file or folder in Windows XP
NOTE: you probably have to reboot the computer before the settings you change actually take effect !