Back up with existing Dell Recovery partition

August 2, 2009 at 12:33:28
Specs: Windows XP
Hello,

I have a Dell Dimension 8400 desktop and included on the hard drive are two partitions. One for recovery and one with utilities. So I installed Norton Ghost 10.0 and made a back up of just the C: drive. Later after some software changes I went to make another back up and noticed that I originally didnt include backing up the recovery and utility partitions. My question is if I use the original back up I created of the C: drive will this erase the other two partitions currently there? Do I have to back up all my partitions on my hard drive to restore to my current configuration? I appreciate the Dell restore partition and have used it on many occasions and dont want to delete it accidentially. Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks,

MC


See More: Back up with existing Dell Recovery partition

Report •


#1
August 2, 2009 at 12:59:59
In my opinion, if you restore thew C partition, the recovery
partition will still be there.

But for safety, I would clone the whole drive.

You'll need to back up to usb or DVD's.

UK MP's are thieving scumbags.
EU members are worse.


Report •

#2
August 2, 2009 at 19:47:28
After realizing that I didnt copy the restore and utility partitions, I did make a back up of the C drive and included the restore and utility but for future reference I would like to know if I can use the original back up of the C drive without compromising my current configuration.

Thanks,

MC


Report •

Related Solutions


Ask Question