Computing.Net > Forums > Windows XP > Antivirus caught virus on this site

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Antivirus caught virus on this site

Reply to Message Icon

Name: tomtt
Date: January 28, 2007 at 16:47:26 Pacific
OS: xp home edition
CPU/Ram: 384mb
Comment:

Hello: Could not reach the Webmaster so I am posting it here. tonight when I clicked on "Send" after replying to a post, my antivirus catch's the virus pop up each time.It happens each time I send reply
Can you check it out and get rid of it from your website?? Just thought you should know, Thanks,



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: jboy
Date: January 28, 2007 at 17:03:55 Pacific
Reply:

Wasn't this addressed (& dismissed) just the other day in Win9x?

At any rate, the most probable explanation is on your end

I'm not one of those who think Bill Gates is the devil. I simply suspect that if Microsoft ever met up with the devil, it wouldn't need an interpreter


0

Response Number 2
Name: Abnormal
Date: January 28, 2007 at 17:49:14 Pacific

Response Number 3
Name: Justin Weber
Date: January 28, 2007 at 18:10:33 Pacific
Reply:

Hi,

What is the specific message you get?

Justin


0

Response Number 4
Name: nandy
Date: January 29, 2007 at 00:14:53 Pacific
Reply:

I don't think so. I've been using this site for years and not one instance did I saw a virus/worm/spyware was caught by accessing this site.

It sometimes happens that while you're browsing the internet, worms/viruses/spyware are trying to get inside your PC, but not necessarily because you got here @ computing.net

Nandy


0

Response Number 5
Name: tomtt
Date: January 29, 2007 at 04:04:02 Pacific
Reply:

Quote:What is the specific message you get?

I will let you know, I am now going to "send" this reply and see if my Antivirus catch's it and warns me again. Please stay tuned. Thanks


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: tomtt
Date: January 29, 2007 at 04:11:52 Pacific
Reply:

Ok Justin: My antivirus caught the virus trying to enter my pc again, whenever I click on "Confirm Reply"
It must be coming from this site!
I have a snapshot of it, I dont think this site accepts attachments, does it?
Can I send it to you somewhere? Please let me know and Thanks


0

Response Number 7
Name: Justin Weber
Date: January 29, 2007 at 06:05:52 Pacific
Reply:

Hi,

Private message me and I will let you know where to send it.

Thanks,
Justin


0

Response Number 8
Name: tomtt
Date: January 29, 2007 at 10:08:10 Pacific
Reply:

I cannot seem to do that, this is what came up when I tried to PM you>>>

Private Message
As the original poster of this thread, you should not use the private message feature to communicate with people who replied to your question. Instead, please address all concerns you have using the reply form on the message itself.


0

Response Number 9
Name: Justin Weber
Date: January 29, 2007 at 13:26:16 Pacific
Reply:

Oh,

Just go to My Computing.Net and type "Justin Weber" as the to: in the private message.

Justin


0

Response Number 10
Name: tomtt
Date: January 29, 2007 at 17:19:56 Pacific
Reply:

I did, did you get it?


0

Response Number 11
Name: Justin Weber
Date: January 29, 2007 at 18:28:29 Pacific
Reply:

Hello,

Yes. I responded.

Justin


0

Response Number 12
Name: Justin Weber
Date: January 30, 2007 at 06:12:49 Pacific
Reply:

Hi all,

After speaking with tomtt, I have determined that Avira anti-virus does find a false-positive on this site. The virus it finds is called "HTML/Feebs.Gen" which is some generic thing to detect "suspicious" looking HTML/javascript code. Here is the complete description:
http://www.avira.com/en/threats/sec...

I think we can all agree that, based on the description, this is a false positive.

I will leave this post up for future reference.

Thanks,
Justin


0

Response Number 13
Name: jboy
Date: January 30, 2007 at 15:58:34 Pacific
Reply:

So, it's now safe to post again?

j/k - I would have been *amazed* if there had been an onsite problem of that nature

It's good to be vigilant, but a little common sense and investigation might be considerations before hitting that 'panic button'

... all's well that ends well

I'm not one of those who think Bill Gates is the devil. I simply suspect that if Microsoft ever met up with the devil, it wouldn't need an interpreter.


0

Response Number 14
Name: Abnormal
Date: January 30, 2007 at 17:18:29 Pacific
Reply:

I also use AntiVir, (on a clean system).
Java enabled for comp.net and
kontera.com using firefox.

Must be an IE thing, or


0

Response Number 15
Name: jboy
Date: January 31, 2007 at 00:42:38 Pacific
Reply:

Sure - nothing new about false positives, although they can unnerve some folks

Thought I'd recalled a similar recent post:

http://www.computing.net/windows95/...

I'm not one of those who think Bill Gates is the devil. I simply suspect that if Microsoft ever met up with the devil, it wouldn't need an interpreter.


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Windows XP Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: Antivirus caught virus on this site

AOL Forum On This Site? www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/aol-forum-on-this-site/78213.html

wierd window pop up on this site www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/wierd-window-pop-up-on-this-site/61638.html

Search on this site www.computing.net/answers/windows-xp/search-on-this-site/120997.html