Accidently erased the original SID.bak file

December 28, 2010 at 09:34:56
Specs: Windows Vista
I was following instructions on how to fix the "User Profile won't load" error and in the registry editor page, I was renaming the S15.bak (I only had one) to be without the .bak at the end of it..I hightlighted all the numbers etc. and pressed backspace only to erase the original name. I accidently pressed 'z' too--so thus when I logged off and logged back on in to Safe Mode w/ Network Drives, It's still there as Z....

How do I get it back to the original state to continue fixing it?

See More: Accidently erased the original SID.bak file

Report •

December 28, 2010 at 09:54:11
I did a system restore--everything worked out fine...I can log on now..

I checked the registry editor and the .bak file isn't there (unless it shows up in Safe Mode)

Did I do right with the system restore? It says everything was fine...but I mean--will I have a problem logging on again? Just curiousity...

Report •
Related Solutions

Ask Question