Solved Opinions please - is Windows ME really a buggy OS?

December 18, 2015 at 03:41:06
Specs: Peppermint 5, 1.5ghz cpu, 3.5gb ram, 1366x768 display
I've gone through many reviews, ive seen many reviews of experts saying that Windows ME is a piece of s---, its buggy and is not suitable for daily use. But ive also seen people, common people, posting about how good Windows ME is for home computing. I never really tried it, but I bought a copy from a friend who bought it from an auction site. I am thinking about giving it a go on my virtual machine, though I need some suggestions. Suggestions regarding anything, its good, bad, awesome, messy, install tips, tweaks etc. Personally another of my friend says she loved Windows ME very much, may be because of the additions in the OS in that tine, like the Windows Movie Maker and others. Though another of my friend says its bulls--- and XP is better. I agree, nothing can beat XP, still i wanna hear your opinions regarding it. Google is confusing me. LOL. Thanks for reading though :)

See More: Opinions please - is Windows ME really a buggy OS?

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 04:15:10
You've bought it. Install it and see what you think.

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 05:13:42
Bugs from MS-wise, it's about the same as the rest of their Windows OS line. The reputation WinME gets comes from third party drivers. The kernel changed from Win98 (obviously), but driver writers couldn't be bothered to adopt it as their primary target. Supposedly this led to some driver writers taking their Win98 drivers, and trying to hack in WinME support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 06:40:15
✔ Best Answer
IMO, WinME was better than Win98SE, but there are certain changes that should be made immediately upon installation. Many years ago there was a contributor name Trevor (aka Trev) that devoted a lot of time to tweaking ME & created a website called burzurq:

Black Viper is another that devotes a lot of time to posting different OS tweaks. Here's his ME tweak page:

One point where the 2 differ is with System Restore. Trev uses it; Viper recommends disabling it. I'm with Viper - disable System Restore & never re-enable it again, EVER!

One other thing. If you've never used (or never heard of) 98Lite, I highly suggest you look into it.

Here's a few more sites I have bookmarked that might be helpful:

Report •

Related Solutions

December 18, 2015 at 07:31:45
thank you riider for all the links :) the black viper one would what i personally prefer, my experience says to trust that one LOL. if i am wrong, hey its a virtual PC, hard disk delete - make anew - install anew simple! will drop back with results though, thanks again :)

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 07:35:22
razor, ijack, thanks for the follow up :) razor, will keep your point in mind :)
Having this solved, its still unsolved, if u get my grip LOL. any furthur suggestions are welcome though :) i ll value each one of yours!

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 14:37:19
Yes, Windows ME was a little too big for its boots but it could be made to run very well with sufficient tweaks. Win 98SE was better straight out of the box.

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks

Report •

December 18, 2015 at 18:30:12
I posted this and got no solution regarding my lag on 98SE installed on my virtual machine. So I had to buy a copy of Win ME to try. Win98SE did not work for me. although you can help me out regarding the lag on 98SE too though :) and thanks for the follow up.

message edited by jaysarma987

Report •

Ask Question