Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
I am using Norton Firewall and accationally get alert, like "someone is attempting to attack your computer" you can view the details like this one I got tonight
inetnum: 80.0.202.0 - 80.0.207.255
netname: NTL
descr: NTL Infrastructure - Watford
country: GB
admin-c: NNMC1-RIPE
tech-c: NNMC1-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: AS5089-MNT
remarks: INFRA-AW
changed: hostmaster@ntli.net 20020611
source: RIPEWhere can I go to learn about what this info represents?
Can I contact the ISP and complain or do I just remain thankful I cant get hacked?
Thanks
Drawde

if your firewall is alerting u that someone is attempting to attack your computer then your firewall is doing its job by blocking it. Im assuming your did a whois on that on the attackers IP address. You can file a complaint with the attackers ISP if u want to im not really sure on what the procedure is but im sure u can look it up on the net.

I use Tiny Personal Firewall and instead of using the word 'Attack' it uses the word 'Contact'.
Does Norton define the word 'Attack' in it's help file so you will know precisely what Norton is telling you before you complain?
If you receive repeated/intentional 'attacks' then it may be worth complaining.
Otherwise it could simply be a computer searching the world wide web for a particular URL and in it's search it looks at yours. Since yours is armed with a firewall it will never know if yours was the one it was looking for. This is normal internet activity and normal for a firewall to block it.
HTH
Bryan

You can spend a lifetime delving into potential attackers alerts. The main thing is to be certain that your Firewall is blocking them.
In which case you are best to switch off the warning message (if you can find how) and sit back and let Norton have the worries.
Derek

![]() |
backup and Opaserv
|
Big Problem
|

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |