Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Every browser I try to use has a comcast download. I cant change homepages. It looks like a fake comcast page. Its says" New comast customer download the installation software or Existing comcast customers download this software. It a cheesy fake comcast graphic also. I cant go anywhere on the internet anything I put in the address bar returns me back to the comcast page. I have had comcast for 4 yrs and never had this. Iam going to try to run hijack this and other programs to try to find out what this is. Just wanted some advice on what to do.
Thanks for you time.. Browsers are IE , Fire Fox and avant..

Top of the page, under 'security tools' - download, install, update & run Ad-aware & Spybot first - they may resolve the issue.
If not, give HJT a try - there are several sites that will attempt an automated analysis of the generated log - here's one
Resist the temptation to close your request for help with semantically-null questions like “Can anyone help me?”

The first actions I would try would also be ad aware and spybot sd. There both free. I would also try grisoft avg, another popular free program.

... must be an echo
AVG is an antivrus program - not really the right tool for a browser hijack, but yes, it's important to have some sort of AV software running as well
Resist the temptation to close your request for help with semantically-null questions like “Can anyone help me?”

I ran Spybot and ad-aware they found nothing.
I used hijack this and could not find anything. I had McAfee virus that comcast has to download.. All this started after I downloaded it. after I ran hijack this.. I uninstalled mcaffe and installed AVG and ran a scan and found nothing. Maybe it is a legit page. I just dont think comcast would not let you use the internet and hijack your browser. I have know Idea.. I can update programs so the internet is good. I tried going to Microsoft update but I still get that comcast install wizard. I viewed the source and the web site the is in the html is cdn.com or cnd.com..
anyway.. Thanks for all the replies and help...

I have two pc´s that are getting the same exact thing with this fake comcast page!!! I tried all Ad-aware, Spybot, and Avg..All reported nothing..
Anyone know how to fix this??Thanks

Ok...found out what it is. It is legitimate.
I forgot to pay my bill :( and that is why it was happening. After that was fixed never saw the page again.
Thanks

![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |