Articles

What are your first impressions of Win 8 Consumer Preview?

March 7, 2012 at 00:11:23
Specs: Windows 7, 3GHz P4/ 2GB

I downloaded the consumer preview and I'm not impressed.

It seems to be more difficult to use and require more clicks to do most things. The search function in Vista and 7 which I fell in love with has been molested by the side menu search function that doesn't seem as effective or as accurate. Instead of keeping it simple and having the results displayed on the side menu it opens the dang apps screen and your desktop disappears... Annoying to say the least.

The new "start" interface is obviously supposed to make the operating system touch friendly which it probably does but for the vast majority of desktop PC's now and probably for the next 3 years, it is more difficult and very inconsistent to the regular interface. Closing programs in that interface is different from the desktop interface and not particularly obvious, even esc wont get you out of one thing but will get you out of others. Why couldn't they keep the X in the corner of the screen we have enjoyed for the last 17+ years in addition to the touch alternative?

Another annoyance is getting up the side menu with a mouse seems very tedious sometimes often needing a few trys.

I installed Win8 on an older setup but its decent enough:

3GHz HT Pentium 4
2GB DDR400 in dual Channel
320GB/7200RPM/16MB SATA HDD
256MB X1650Pro (AGP)

It runs rather well, but annoyingly It has no driver for the graphics and wont install Win7 drivers for it saying the Microsoft generic is the most suitable driver. However that is understandable at this stage of development even if it is annoying. With that said, everything else works without problems which is surprising with a motherboard close to 10 years older than the operating system.

The new interface other than it being worse to use on a regular desktop PC, in my opinion is incredibly ugly. Very flat and not immersive or enjoyable to look at with dull colours, kinda looks like Windows 3.1 in 640x480 with a high contrast theme. This interface doesn't have to be ugly, why have White silhouetted icons on flat pastel coloured tiles? Couldn't we have nicer Aero type tiles with the nice high resolution icons we have now? And why does the task bar have to disappear?

So, now that I have had my rant pointing out my annoyances I will continue to use Win8 just to make sure it's not just the good old change is bad syndrome. It is an early release, but hopefully the final version is VASTLY different from what I am using now.

EDIT: Wow, just was looking at the lounge and saw a link jackbomb posted:

http://www.geeksaresexy.net/2011/09...

Exactly the way I feel about it, backwards step.

Mattwizz3
P35-DS3R
4GB DDR800
E7500


See More: What are your first impressions of Win 8 Consumer Preview?

Report •


#1
March 7, 2012 at 14:41:55

Thanks but no thanks, I will continue using Linux..........

Googling is quicker than waiting for an answer....


Report •

#2
March 7, 2012 at 23:02:33

I've used 3.1, 98SE, 2000, XP, Vista, 7 and now trying 8.

98SE was a great operating system, 2000 was nice stable and had more advanced hardware management, XP had a slightly better interface and better system for different users on one PC, Vista was a dog and slow as hell but did introduce some nice stuff, 7 kept the good of Vista and threw the crap. 8 seems to have ignored all the progress that the previous systems made and started at square 1, and done a bad job of it.

There are some nice new features, I like the new task manager which now gives much more detail.

I think if Win8 doesn't change dramatically before it is released It will probably be the first O/S I'll skip.

Mattwizz3
P35-DS3R
4GB DDR800
E7500


Report •

#3
April 17, 2012 at 12:10:17

I think unless you also have a tablet interface or touch screen it is not worth the upgrade. I did have a techie tell me it did have some performance gains, but not significant enough to merit switching.

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
April 18, 2012 at 07:14:06

Windows 8 is great for tablet and phone but definitely not PC.
I use the developer preview version (not sure if it's the same as the consumer preview version) and I encounter some major problems:

e.g:
No multi-tasking:
I go to desktop and open IE 10. Go to youtube and watch a video. Then I want to open another application by clicking on the "start" button and suddenly the whole screen switch to metro ui, and my video is still playing in the background (but can't watch it). D***! I can't multi-tasking anymore! A BIG-step backward.

Privacy Test = Failed:
Windows 8 failed what I called the "privacy test". Every time I want to open a new app, it goes full screen. This works well for tablet, phone or other HANDHELD devices since the screen is small and facing to the user ONLY. Imagine if you are at work with you 21" PC monitor, it is not the same as a handheld device screen, a lot of people, coworkers can see it. Let's say you want to open some video, apps and everybody can see what you are doing. You know what I mean? You cannot "hide it" and take time to swtich back to your working environment.



Report •

#5
April 26, 2012 at 06:45:34

Not suited for desktops.
One full screen application concept is a waste on my 23" LCD, and touch is not even an option unless I become as Mr Fantastic (or they roll out a decent UI for kinect).
The design is inconsistent, flat and ugly, and not usable either with or without touch (smart edges are not so smart).
Metro wastes a lot of space, that is ok to make thing readable on a 4"smartphone but is a waste even for the lower end netbook.
The whole touch thing is pure hype and anyone coming out with that should be condemned to type the Divine Comedy on a touchscreen, twice.

Report •

#6
April 26, 2012 at 18:13:52

A simple comparison between Windows 7 and 8 in how to shut down the computer.

Windows 7:
1. Click the Start Button, click Shut down if that is assigned, else click the arrow and then click Shut down. (2-3 Clicks)

Windows 8:
1. Get to the Metro UI, click on the user picture, then click Sign Out. Then drag the lock picture to unlock the computer, then click the power button, and finally click Shut down. (5-6 Clicks)

I definitely want to pass Windows 8 at this point!


Report •

#7
April 27, 2012 at 05:25:18

ARE YOU READING THIS MICROSOFT

Win 7 definitely is going to be my live in O/S, as XP was for many people with Vista. Wonder if this is a pattern: 2K - Great, ME - Terrible, XP - Great, Vista - Terrible, 7 -Great, 8 - Terrible.

Mattwizz3
P35-DS3R
4GB DDR800
E7500


Report •

#8
May 24, 2012 at 11:09:07

The question for people is are you going to upgrade to windows 8 because you have to or because you want to? I mean what can't Windows XP do for the avg consumor that surfs the net watches video and does word processing that it prompts an upgrade to where they have to get an new operating system ever 3 years. None.

If you are a gamer or into heavy graphics what can Windows 8 do that Windows 7 can't? Both support DrectX 11 so where is your money better spent if you are a gamer or into heavy graphical workloads, spending 200 dollars on a retail version of Windows 8 or putting 200 dollars towards upgrading your hardware when the need prompts too. If you have Windows 7 there really isn't a need to upgrade to Windows 8. I have yet to see one real legit reason where you have to upgrade to Windows 8 from Windows 7 unlike Windows XP where if you were a gamer or into heavy graphical workloods you really didn't have an choice if you needed an OS to take advantage of latest DirectX software. Now i can understand why people upgraded from Vista to Windows 7, due to memory leakage problems that Vista had that MS couldn't fix without reworking the enitre kernal and that became an issue for gamers and people that did a lot of graphical worklaods that needed to take advantage of all of their resoruces, without having to worry about resource leakage. But unlike Windows Vista Windows 7 has none of those types of problems and yes even through Windows 8 is a little faster in some areas then Windows 7 is which it should given the progression of software, are those small perfomance gains that are mostly realitive to system operations worth your 200 dollars? No. especially when MS is going to start rolling out new operating systems at the end of every 2 years now. So your money is better spent upgrading your current system every 2 years then to go out and buy a new OS every two years unless it prompts for a must to do so.

Iron Sharpens Iron.


Report •

#9
June 11, 2012 at 20:08:38

Honestly I love Windows 8 and I'm on a traditional desktop PC that I built myself.
Right away I noticed a huge performance increase over Windows 7, my programs launched quicker and a few small games saw some increased FPS. It bugs me when I see people complaining about the new interface and all this other crap that really isn't that big of a deal. I like the new Metro interface, I ended up replacing a lot of the tiles with internet shortcuts to my favorite sites as well as shortcuts to my programs. I love how I can press the Windows key and be greeted by a nice organized interface with some neat little apps and tiles with all my frequently used programs rather than trying to sort through the mess of menus that was my old Windows 7 start menu. If I can't find an application I can just point to the bottom corner of the screen and bring up the Search or just right-click and view all my installed apps right away. Not to mention using Metro allowed me to keep my Desktop completely clean so I just have a nice picture on there rather than 50 or so icons.

I know I'm in the minority here but people need to just realize that times are changing and nothing stays the same. I know we all have got used to the interface that has stayed almost the same since Windows 95 or so but it's time for a change and I believe Microsoft has taken a step in the right direction. Don't get me wrong here, I still use the classic desktop a lot but I also am starting to use Metro more often as well. Honestly I think it's funny how people find little things in the operating system they don't like to bash Microsoft about when really they overlook the improvements. The boot time is orders of magnitude faster than what the previous versions of Windows could achieve. The general performance of Windows 8 is higher than Windows 7, a simple search could pull of benchmarks that support this. The new interface is nice and easy to use in my opinion, I have yet to have used it on a tablet but I'd expect it to be even more fun than on my home PC.
Windows Explorer has been improved, it even supports native ISO mounting, something that is very useful to me and much easier than having to download 3rd party tools to do the job which sometimes have driver issues.

In conclusion, from my own experience Windows 8 is the best version of Windows that I have used so far since XP and I believe it has great potential. Already I would choose a Windows 8 x86 tablet over any Apple product or Android based tablet and I have used both in the past.


Report •

#10
June 16, 2012 at 19:22:52

@AzureKnight: read Cobra_R's response, #8. Are people going to spend $200 to get an OS with better performance, or are they going to use that money to upgrade their hardware? Windows 7 has the bugs out and uses resources fine, and upgrading hardware would increase the performance. So why would they upgrade to Windows 8?

You've been helped by a 14 year old.


Report •

#11
June 18, 2012 at 19:53:33

AzureKnight#9: I fully agree with you I have Win 8 Release Preview. Its so simple to work with and its fast, 5 times faster than XP. to look at my desk top one would think its XP>

Report •

#12
August 16, 2012 at 09:03:57

Well, I planned to use Windows 7 for a while and decided maby it was time to give linux a go in case Microsoft decide Metro UI is forever (Its more than wastefull on a 2560x1440 monitor)

Well after finding the best and easiest distro of linux (Linux Mint) I also found out that the start bar can be enabled and fully functional with a simple registry edit! YAY.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CAu...

Noice and easy!

Mattwizz3


Report •

#13
October 25, 2012 at 14:33:31

Re #8 (just in case you look back to this old post).

"what can't Windows XP do for the avg consumor that surfs the net watches video and does word processing".

Errr....I can do one hell of a lot more that on my XP. I also have Windows 7 but have yet to find anything that it does that I can't already do on XP (with appropriate free third party programs on either if necessary). I'm not a gamer but what are these other things that I'm missing out on when using XP?

Always pop back and let us know the outcome - thanks


Report •

#14
November 18, 2012 at 18:09:13

It is great for mobile computing but not worthy for desktop PCs.

I am a technology freak. Visit my blog Get Smarter about Technology


Report •

#15
November 18, 2012 at 18:37:00

It took me a while to get used to the Windows 8 tiled start screen -- but the more I use it, the more I like it.

It brings everything I need: right there together in front of me. it is quite easy to jump from email to Facebook to reading my favorite newspaper...

It is a great start and a good foundation. This OS will only get better...

It is obviously a case of Microsoft trying to keep up the Jones's -- and they have done a nice job with it. (And this is the FIRST time I have ever complimented Microsoft for ANYTHING!)


Report •

#16
November 19, 2012 at 23:36:59

Spoken like a true M$ fan.

I haven't actually found anyone in my circle of friends, acquaintances and customers who like Win8. The usual comment is about the fact that it is so obviously meant for a touchscreen but there are hardly any systems available that make use of it. I have actually bought an all-in-one 23" touchscreen, just to see how I get on with it and so that I can get used to it and show people what it is supposed to look/work like, and even when they have used it no-one has been very impressed. When compared to the iPad and an android the usual comment is 'Well it's a start'.

All of the positive advertising does not get over the fact that it hinders productivity on a desktop, and is probably fine for a tablet or smartphone, but they aren't out yet, so what went wrong?. And to top it all Sinofsky departs the company soon after launch - how's that for a recommendation, whatever the reasoning.

"I've always been mad, I know I've been mad, like the most of us..." Pink Floyd


Report •

#17
November 21, 2012 at 05:03:44

I upgraded to Windows 8 because I tried the preview and found it faster and less memory hungry than Windows 7 (among other improvements).

I hate the Metro UI, so installed Start8 (ClassicShell also works) to get the Windows 7-style start menu back. You can set it to skip the Metro UI at startup and go straight to the desktop.

If you also install 7 Sidebar, you can have all your gadgets back on the desktop, so it all looks and feels like Windows 7, but better.


Report •


Ask Question