Computing.Net > Forums > Web Development > green links from vibrant media

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

green links from vibrant media

Reply to Message Icon

Name: darrow
Date: August 25, 2005 at 22:54:03 Pacific
OS: mac and pc
CPU/Ram: 16 mg
Comment:

I never noticed green links until a few days ago on the sites that I have built. My understanding is that my webhost must be letting these people (s) at vibrantmedia.com put their keywords on my pages. I am totally furious, because I advertise web site design and some of the text on my pages takes users to my competitors! what the hell is that. I am in the process of finding out from herwebhost.com (my site host) how to get rid of it from my web pages. They say it is not piracy, but it is. If you deal with a web site host, tell them you do not want vibrant media ads or intellitxt keywords on your site. This has to be stopped. I am thinking class action law suit.




Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: RandyH1959
Date: August 26, 2005 at 07:25:42 Pacific
Reply:

I have seen this before on one computer in a place that I used to work. None of the other computers did it. I ran Adaware and it went away. Maybe I got lucky in my case. Is it doing this for every computer you look on? Maybe you have the same problem. What is a web address of a site that is doing it? Maybe we can look at it and see what is going on.


0

Response Number 2
Name: Michael J (by mjdamato)
Date: August 26, 2005 at 07:28:20 Pacific
Reply:

It isn't "Piracy". They aren't reselling your copyrighted material.

But if they are doing it withouot expressly notifying you, then it is wrong and "possibly" illegal. I say possibly because there are still some areas where the law hasn't caught up with technology. Good luck on initiating a class action lawsuit. Me, I'd just switch to a more reputable hosting company.

Michael J


0

Response Number 3
Name: Laler
Date: August 26, 2005 at 14:13:18 Pacific
Reply:

If all you said is true then what an evil hosting company. You should tell everyone about this to ruin their reputation :D

You paid for the hosting right? Have you looked at their terms? Maybe there's some fine printed aggrement or something. Still, what an evil company.

---
Site of the Day


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon

Related Posts

See More







Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Web Development Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: green links from vibrant media

Generating HTML Links from Folder C www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/generating-html-links-from-folder-c/3641.html

intellitxt host block not workin... www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/intellitxt-host-block-not-workin/480.html

links from menu bar www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/links-from-menu-bar/1929.html