Computing.Net > Forums > Web Development > Email Tracking from Web Site?

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Email Tracking from Web Site?

Reply to Message Icon

Name: ducklips
Date: August 17, 2004 at 14:34:49 Pacific
OS: XP
CPU/Ram: c540/1GB
Comment:

Ok. This just baffles the heck out of me. I see a hit on my company site hit tracker. I open another browser and enter in the url of the person that hit my site. Then 10 minutes later (if that) I get an email from the site explaining their services and thanking me for inquiring. I never sent them an email, and I was only on their site for 10-15 seconds.

If you look up my ip address it won't tell you who I am, only my ISP. I have a hardware firewall and a software firewall. I asked the person/company who sent the email and she said that their development team developed this internal tool for tracking.

I would like to know A.) How the heck did they do this? B.) How can I prevent this from being done again?

I certainly appreciate any advice or input!

"i woke up this morning and all of my stuff was stolen and replaced with exact duplicates."



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: SN
Date: August 17, 2004 at 18:47:17 Pacific
Reply:

We need more information. What browser are you using? What is your e-mail client? What is the address of the site you went to? Do you have any DNS settings that might have given you away (Look in the DNS configuration tab of tcp/ip properties)?

Did you get any warnings about running activex or java on the page? Have you looked at your internet security settings and set each one to "prompt" or "disable?" (on IE)

This used to be possible through a security flaw in a very old version of netscape, but I am unaware of any means of doing it with any kind of reliability on modern browsers. You always hear rumors of sites that do it, but I've never been able to confirm it.

Please post back with more info, particularly with the site address...I'd like to check it out and see if they send me an e-mail.

Luck
SN


0

Response Number 2
Name: ducklips
Date: August 25, 2004 at 12:50:03 Pacific
Reply:

Howdy-

The site was www.yellowbrix.com

Our email client is external.

There were no java alerts or active x alerts although my settings may have been too low. Still, a "reputable" company should have some sort of morals?

When you do an ip lookup on our ip it only gives our host info.

I don't use netscape.

I did check the IE settings and they were on custom for some reason. I set all of them to either medium or High, hoping that I won't lose much functionality.

Be careful of stirring up too much notice on this. I am in business and don't want to cause any massive issues. Even though I also don't want people nabbing my email address without my permission.

Please let me know what you find out. Sorry for the delay in responding. Thanks for your input and help.


"i woke up this morning and all of my stuff was stolen and replaced with exact duplicates."


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon

Related Posts

See More







Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Web Development Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: Email Tracking from Web Site?

spam & web sites www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/spam-amp-web-sites/306.html

Comments about this Web Site www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/comments-about-this-web-site/836.html

Web site downloads www.computing.net/answers/webdevel/web-site-downloads/2839.html