Computing.Net > Forums > The Lounge > mesichs website

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

mesichs website

Reply to Message Icon

Name: Lindy
Date: January 31, 2009 at 17:36:59 Pacific
OS: Windows 98
Subcategory: General
Comment:

Does Mesich still peruse this domain? I just went to his site via Google & my virus protection came back telling me there was a virus. Can someone tell me what that was or check it out?
Thanks



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: SkipCox
Date: January 31, 2009 at 18:10:44 Pacific
Reply:

Haven't seen him in awhile, however The Count looked in a few days ago. Maybe he'll notice this thread.

Don't know why your AV went off though...

http://www.mesich.com/

works fine for me.

Skip


0

Response Number 2
Name: lurkswithin
Date: January 31, 2009 at 23:53:33 Pacific
Reply:

It popped up a malware for me as well. maybe you need to update your anti virus program.
This is what was found:

HTML/Crypted.Gen - Malware
Description:
To avoid detection by antivirus software, authors of HTML malware use browser features like Java and VisualBasic Script. These scripts are small and very often quite simple encryption routines hiding the malicious parts of the script. Encrypted malware is detected as HTML/Crypted.Gen.

This was a file that was written to search for files on the computer

In reference to 11/05/2008


"So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause."
- George Lucas


0

Response Number 3
Name: jam
Date: February 2, 2009 at 17:58:08 Pacific
Reply:

I just checked it:

Multiple viruses detected
Virus identified JS/Psyme.QM


0

Response Number 4
Name: btk1w1
Date: February 3, 2009 at 15:04:01 Pacific
Reply:

Same here. Alerted by Avast of a trojan horse, connection aborted.


0

Response Number 5
Name: Leroi
Date: February 8, 2009 at 15:14:50 Pacific
Reply:

I get no alerts whatsoever on the site, suggest you check your antivirus software for updates to correct false positive detections.

I also advise y'all not to be quite so paranoid.

"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: btk1w1
Date: February 9, 2009 at 05:53:45 Pacific
Reply:

I just tried the link again.

Alerted again of a trojan and connection aborted.

Details:
Malware type: JS:Agent-BA [Trj]
VPS version: 090209-0, 09/02/2009

This is the latest Avast virus definition database (Note the date bolded).

I also run the link through http://linkscanner.explabs.com and it was classified as DANGEROUS: LinkScanner Online has found
[Link to known exploit site]

Here is the page with the full details:

http://linkscanner.explabs.com/link...

It still may be a false positive but I like to err on the side of caution.


0

Response Number 7
Name: Leroi
Date: February 9, 2009 at 10:06:04 Pacific
Reply:

I recommend that you report the possible false positive detection to Avast! via their support facility(s), either their forum or email support.

I'd like to know what they say if they answer you.

Still no problem navigating the site here.

"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs


0

Response Number 8
Name: btk1w1
Date: February 9, 2009 at 10:45:20 Pacific
Reply:

It's not only Avast that throws up the warning, explabs is a totally independant link scanner.

Give it a blast, enter the URL at the link provided below and type the confirmation characters:

http://linkscanner.explabs.com


0

Response Number 9
Name: Leroi
Date: February 9, 2009 at 11:40:13 Pacific
Reply:

Yeah, well, Dr.Web anti-virus link checker 1.0.18 says it's clean.

I really think it's a false positive.

"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs


0

Response Number 10
Name: Lindy157
Date: February 15, 2009 at 18:36:12 Pacific
Reply:

I reported it to Google. They said they'd check it out. Sorry if I started a scare but I'd rather be safe than sorry. And I know Mesich would want to know his site is being reported as attacked.
Thanks for checking into it.
Lindy


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to The Lounge Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: mesichs website

Netbook Computers www.computing.net/answers/thelounge/netbook-computers/18.html

Is spam still a problem? www.computing.net/answers/thelounge/is-spam-still-a-problem/28.html

Internet censorship Australia www.computing.net/answers/thelounge/internet-censorship-australia/42.html