Articles

Discuss: Windows 8 Consumer Preview

March 2, 2012 at 05:41:04
Specs: Windows 7, 1.4 GHz / 5610 MB

Hi all,

This week's poll question is about the newly released Windows 8 Consumer Preview for download from Microsoft. Discuss here if you have tried out Windows 8 yet, and, if you like, the poll results themselves.

Thanks!
Justin


See More: Discuss: Windows 8 Consumer Preview

Report •


#1
March 2, 2012 at 07:12:44

First I would need to download a 2.5GB ISO, and secondly would need a suitable machine to install on, thanks but no thanks will stick with Linux.

Googling is quicker than waiting for an answer....


Report •

#2
March 2, 2012 at 10:22:01

I don't have system to run win 7 but even if i have one i will still not install it because installing applications after installing OS is task i don't like to do(consume alot of time). Downloading 2.5GB image isn't a problem for me.
Maybe i will do it if i have a spare hard drive.

You know the real meaning of peace only if you have been through the war.


Report •

#3
March 2, 2012 at 10:49:55

Yes, I've installed it in a VM and the more I use it the more I like it. I'm also playing with Server "8", this time on a physical machine. Again, quite impressed so far.

Report •

Related Solutions

#4
March 2, 2012 at 11:10:51

ijack
Did u manage to diasble Metro UI?

You know the real meaning of peace only if you have been through the war.


Report •

#5
March 2, 2012 at 21:29:22

I didn't like the first preview Microsoft released six months ago.

That Metro interface is awkward to use on a mouse-driven desktop. And not knowing what to do with my pointer reminded me of another of "life's firsts"...lol.

A little bird told me that the consumer preview is much better than the original, so I'll give it another try.

Super PIII | Unlocked ES Tualatin @ 1.8GHz (150x12, 1.65v), 512K L2
3GB PC2700 | 500GB | Radeon x1950Pro | Apollo Pro 266T | Win7 Pro


Report •

#6
March 3, 2012 at 04:53:40

I haven't tried to disable Metro. I want to try the new OS, not make it look like Windows 7. I'd recommend that people read some of the many online articles about the new interface rather than just assuming that they know how it works.

Report •

#7
March 4, 2012 at 12:16:22

jackbomb if you're talking about the developer preview, that was only API complete, not feature complete. Some variation of the consumer preview is probably the version that'll end up going gold.

Also, I assume everyone's seen this graphic.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

#8
March 5, 2012 at 05:16:45

I just downloaded the 32-bit ISO last nite, now I've got to pick which machine to experiment on.

Report •

#9
March 5, 2012 at 07:59:57

The link 4 "All free versions of Windows 8" @ Download Windows 8 (6.2.8250.0) Consumer Preview for Windows seems 2 be broken. :$

PS. riider install in in a VM..:)


Report •

#10
March 5, 2012 at 08:09:01

I have several systems I can play around with. I'd rather do a "real" install.

Report •

#11
March 5, 2012 at 08:35:49

Do whichever has a touchscreen, because the UI is really a touch interface. If you don't have a touchscreen, pick a computer where you're unlikely to poke the screen.

EDIT: Also, if we're going to have links, we might as well have the official link: MS Win8

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

#12
March 10, 2012 at 11:31:26

I finally got around to downloading and installing it last night. I used the Super P3 to test the OS.

http://img834.imageshack.us/img834/...

-Definitely an improvement over the Developer Preview, but Metro still isn't my cup of tea.
-Navigating Metro and its Apps with a mouse is still quite awkward.
-When the Start Screen icon appears at the bottom of the screen, moving the mouse towards it to click it causes it to disappear. You have to keep the cursor at the bottom left corner and click without moving. Same with a bunch of other "hidden" buttons. This is counterintuitive.
-A few Metro Apps are still broken. Obviously, MS will fix them for the final release.
-Unlike the Developer Preview, the CP doesn't let me replace the Start menu with a registry tweak. Nuts.
-While the UI leaves a lot to be desired, at least Microsoft made it fast. Win8 does feel "snappier" than the already quick Win7. The CP ran impressively well on my Super P3 test platform. Metro and Desktop animations were rendered at a silky smooth 60fps on the machine's AGP x1950Pro graphics card. And boot times are insane! The P3 machine boots into Win8 a few seconds faster than my 3.2GHz dual-core manages to load Win7!
-IE10 is noticeably quicker than IE9, but still behind Chrome.
-Some of the Metro Apps would look just great on an HTPC hooked up to a large display.
-I wish Win7 had that awesome task manager and file transfer manager!

Final thougts: Unless Microsoft takes a look at the negative responses they're getting and decides to completely rework the UI (or at least give us power users the option to completely DISABLE Metro), I'll skip Windows 8. I'm not a tablet using hipster quite yet.

Super PIII | Unlocked ES Tualatin @ 1.8GHz (150x12, 1.65v), 512K L2
3GB PC2700 | 500GB | Radeon x1950Pro | Apollo Pro 266T | Win7 Pro


Report •

#13
March 11, 2012 at 11:11:23

Interesting, I haven't noticed any improvement from Win8 to Win7, while booting or afterwards. I did notice Explorer isn't launched until you switch over to desktop mode, though, so that might be a part of it.

My own reactions:
- Mouse navigation is as awkward as everyone says. Visual indicators of what you can do are largely non-existent. For instance, there are a number of important keyboard shortcuts, but good luck finding them. (I've been using Win+W more than I should.)
- Apps are still easily broken. My weather app shows a gray screen, for instance.
- There is a strong push to associate your PC account with an on-line account. No word yet on what happens when my shoddy Internet gives out.
- There is a stronger push XBox and XBox related services. I do not own an XBox, and I see GFWL as unneeded cruft.
- I like Metro's taskbar. It's the "preview" display you see in Aero, but on the left side of the screen. No word yet on what happens with multiple monitors.
- An esoteric complaint, but it appears as if the Win8 installer overwrote my old "Windows.old" folder. It should have created a "Windows.old.003" instead.
- The old "Ctrl-Alt-Delete to log" in screen has been replaced with a "swipe up to unlock" screen. I haven't bothered checking for a registry / policy fix yet. I assume there is, otherwise it's a significant security hole.
- I like the ribbon integration in Explorer. More applications should have the ribbon.
- They brought back the "Up a Directory" button, so that's good.
- In general, the "less details" options gives you even less details, while "more details" options gives you even more. The speed graph on file operations appeases my inner number nerd.
- You can double click on Task Manager's graphs to show nothing but clicked graph. I'd mark them down for that, but you're already in "more details" mode, so hopefully my friends / family won't stumble into this feature and not know how to get back out. Again.

Is this OS for you? Depends. If you have a tablet PC, then go for it. If you ever thought your many core, 64-bit CPU with more RAM and storage than God needed a simplified touch-biased UI, go for it. If you think reaching out to tap something at eye level all day is a substitute for a proper calisthenics program, go for it. If not, don't.

<Rant>I do not know why Microsoft is instant in having one unified UI across anything burdened with the Windows name. It's a philosophy that killed their chances in the Smart Phone market. It's a philosophy that killed their chances at tablet PCs. Now it's a philosophy gearing up to make my job harder. Thank the powers that be at Redmond their game console wasn't called the Windows Box.</Rant>

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

#14
March 12, 2012 at 16:06:53

I have been reading a lot of reviews and the basic problem is Microsoft is grafting on a new interface, to what is basically a 25+ year old Operating System, which had a difficult birth. Bloat seems to be the issue !

Even the XBox O/S is based off the NT Kernel....


Whilst Windows 7 Phone is loosely based of Windows CE code base and 15+ years old, it does seem a better O/S.

Windows CE version 2 supported Architectures: ARM, MIPS, PowerPC, StrongARM, SuperH and x86, so it would not be difficult to port Windows Phone 7 to x86 platform.


So maybe Windows NT Family should be sent to the Electric Chair and a new one size fits all O/S should of been developedbased on Windows Phone 7.

Whether or not one likes Apple products, OS X and iOS have a standard code base


My personal feeling is it is about time Microsoft choose a standard code base, rather than the 3 they will be offering, if they want be on TV's, Tablets. Phones, Desktops, Laptops etal....

Googling is quicker than waiting for an answer....


Report •

#15
March 12, 2012 at 16:46:00

So maybe Windows NT Family should be sent to the Electric Chair and a new one size fits all O/S should of been developedbased on Windows Phone 7.
Because 4GB 3GB should be enough RAM for everyone, amirite? Also, I'm not sure how WinNT + WinCE = 3 OSes.

I'm pretty sure the WinNT kernel supports or has supported a larger number of architectures: IA-32, x86-64, Alpha, MIPS, PowerPC, ARM, and Itanium. So maybe Windows Phone 7 should be biased off of WinNT?

I'm kidding, of course. I'm arguing for a clean split in Windows. These devices are different; different demands, different user interactions, different expectations, different hardware architectures. My ODBII reader should be as different from my workstation as my game console is from my phone.

Apple products, OS X and iOS have a standard code base
They have a standard kernel, and they get to design the hardware to make sure their standard kernel will work in every device. It is not the same OS. I'm pretty sure the APIs are still different, but I'd need a Mac to compare Apple's SDKs.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Report •

#16
March 12, 2012 at 23:42:33

Yes Windows NT4 supported Risc OS on ARM, hence why we have Windows 8 for ARM, old crap regurgitated.

3 x OSes, yes NT for X86, NT for ARM and Windows CE are different families according to M$..

I just feel that Microsoft Windows will be like Vista and Millennium Edition, unloved !

Googling is quicker than waiting for an answer....


Report •


Ask Question