Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > www.popupsearches.com & green text

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

www.popupsearches.com & green text

Reply to Message Icon

Name: mcmitchell
Date: March 31, 2005 at 10:26:55 Pacific
OS: Win XP Prof SP1
CPU/Ram: Pentium 4 2.80 ghz and 51
Comment:

Hello and thanks in advance for your wonderful help!
I have downloaded, installed, updated and run Adaware, Spybot S&D, CWShredder and Microsoft Antispyware. I am running Trend Micro for my antiviral software. The software might find a couple of things and i delete them. I have disabled System Restore. I still have a problem with webpages in IE. Green underlined text appears on certain words in the page and takes you to a sponsored link, as well as opens up a new webpage with the address of www.popupsearches.com. Hopefully one of you experts can tell me what I need to do to rid my PC of this hijacker. I have ran Hijack This and have a log. Thank you.



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: jboy
Date: March 31, 2005 at 10:35:57 Pacific
Reply:

IntelliTXT

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Response Number 2
Name: shlurpee
Date: March 31, 2005 at 11:15:01 Pacific
Reply:
0

Response Number 3
Name: jboy
Date: March 31, 2005 at 11:30:44 Pacific
Reply:

Slurpy, that problem seems to be about Backweb - not, strictly speaking, malware.

The green (double?) underlined text is very likely Intellitxt, but the popupsearches redirect may likely be a different issue.

Wouldn't hurt to run HJT! for sure, just to see if it shows up there.

btw - that is not an invitation to post the log here. If 'popupsearches' shows up in the log remove it, otherwise there are sites which will analyze the log automatically

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Response Number 4
Name: jboy
Date: March 31, 2005 at 11:51:49 Pacific
Reply:

Might see if there's anything like this log:

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = http:// www.popupsearches.com/sidesearch.html

.. etc.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Response Number 5
Name: mcmitchell
Date: March 31, 2005 at 11:54:16 Pacific
Reply:

Thank you jboy and schlurpee for your quick replies. I read the article about Intellitext, but unfortunately it doesn't tell me how to get rid of it.
The post that schlurpee directed me to indicates that a program file called Logitech is the culprit..that's not found on my pc. My HJT log does not show "popupsearches" either, nor does any of the other spyware software. Any other suggestions?


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: jboy
Date: March 31, 2005 at 12:05:09 Pacific
Reply:

As far as "getting rid" of Intellitxt - I don't think you understand what it is. It's deliberate site advertising, and not malware.

You can block it by using an alternative browser or else through the HOSTS file.

The popupsearches thing is likely a different issue entirely - I didn't see anything relevant in slurpee's link, don't know what he meant.

Try pasting your log into one of the analysis sites, here or here - maybe something will be flagged there.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Response Number 7
Name: mcmitchell
Date: March 31, 2005 at 12:29:03 Pacific
Reply:

Thank you again jboy. I don't have anything other than
127.0.0.1 localhost
in my host file; so not sure how to block intellitxt from there.
I did analyze my HJT logfile and deleted some items listed as "nasty". That seems to have taken care of the popupsearches as well as the green text...so I'm not sure what it was. The nasty files were x0ff.cab and x1ff.cab from www.RiverSoftwarenet and www.rmgdrs.com. Deleting those two seemed to do the trick! Thanks!


0

Response Number 8
Name: jboy
Date: March 31, 2005 at 12:37:09 Pacific
Reply:

Ok, well, as mentioned, Intellitxt is not a bug, it's a legitimate advertising feature on some sites (including this one)

Some browsers are immune (Opera) or else can block it (Firefox with Adblock)

To block it using the HOSTS file, you have to include every Intellitxt site in existance (there are many)

There are HOSTS files available for download that will block a whole slew of 'problematic' sites.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Response Number 9
Name: mcmitchell
Date: April 4, 2005 at 11:45:22 Pacific
Reply:

Thanks for all your help. I've got the problem resolved.


0

Response Number 10
Name: jboy
Date: April 4, 2005 at 18:18:18 Pacific
Reply:

Ok, well, resolution is good, thanks for posting back.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: www.popupsearches.com & green text

Popupsearches & Green Text www.computing.net/answers/security/popupsearches-amp-green-text/17622.html

Hijack File for www.atoque.com www.computing.net/answers/security/hijack-file-for-wwwatoquecom/9909.html

https://www.megaproxy.com www.computing.net/answers/security/httpswwwmegaproxycom/2349.html